What Clover actually is
Clover is two things wearing one name. It is a point-of-sale operating system with a proprietary hardware family — Station, Mini, Flex, Duo, Go and a self-service Kiosk — and it is the merchant-facing brand on top of Fiserv's card acquiring business. The software is what staff touch. The acquiring is what moves the money, and that part is Fiserv's.
This matters because of how Clover is sold. Most Clover accounts do not come from Clover. They come from a bank branch, an independent sales organization or a merchant-services agent that resells Fiserv acquiring with Clover hardware attached. The entity a merchant negotiates with, signs with and gets billed by is often not the company whose logo is on the terminal.
What Clover is not: an independent processor, a gateway a merchant can point at a different acquirer, or a company with a single published price. It is also not a general-purpose payments API. Clover publishes REST APIs and runs an App Market so developers can build add-on software for Clover devices, but the platform is built around Clover hardware sitting on a counter, not around embedding payments inside somebody else's software.
How a Clover account actually works
The chain behind a Clover transaction has more links than the branding suggests, and knowing where each sits is the difference between calling the right party and spending a week in a support loop.
- The merchant relationship normally belongs to whoever sold the account — a Fiserv direct rep, a partner bank, or an ISO or agent. That party sets pricing, handles paperwork and is the first line of support.
- Underwriting — the review that decides whether a business is approved to accept cards at all, and on what terms — is done by Fiserv and its sponsor banks against Fiserv's prohibited and restricted business lists.
- Sponsorship and licensing sit with Fiserv, which holds the acquiring registrations and money-transmission licenses. Clover holds none of its own.
- Settlement — the movement of funds from the card networks into the merchant's bank account — runs on Fiserv's acquiring platform.
- Chargeback liability falls where it always does in this model: the acquirer, Fiserv, carries it to the networks, and the merchant agreement passes it back to the merchant. Clover the software provides the dashboard for responding to a dispute. It does not absorb the loss.
Clover is the layer a merchant sees; Fiserv is the layer that decides. A pricing dispute, a funding hold or a sudden reserve requirement is a Fiserv-and-reseller matter, and the Clover dashboard has no authority over any of it.
Outside North America, Clover runs through separate local Fiserv entities — Payments Dive reported in 2024 that it was live in Argentina, the UK, Ireland, Germany and the Netherlands, with Brazil, Mexico, Australia, Singapore and Hong Kong planned. Fiserv publishes no consolidated country list, and a multi-country business ends up with several separate Clover relationships rather than one.
How Clover prices, and why two merchants pay differently
Clover publishes software plan tiers on its own website. It does not publish the processing pricing most merchants receive, because it does not set it. That single fact explains most of the confusion about Clover's cost.
There are two bills. The first is the software subscription, charged monthly and generally per device, which the published plan tiers cover. The second is card processing, either flat-rate through Fiserv's direct channel or whatever the reselling bank or ISO negotiated — and the reseller channel is where most accounts are written. Beyond those two lines, expect hardware purchase or lease, a reseller-set PCI compliance fee, chargeback fees, and separate subscriptions for any third-party App Market software the business relies on.
Contract terms follow the same split. Fiserv-direct plans are marketed as month-to-month. Bank- and ISO-sold accounts commonly carry multi-year merchant agreements with auto-renewal, and early-termination fees are a documented feature of ISO-sold Fiserv and legacy First Data paperwork. None of this is disclosed on clover.com, because none of it is Clover's to disclose.
There is also a history of the price changing after signature. Fiserv restructured Clover software plans in 2024, moving functionality that had previously shipped with the hardware into paid tiers and raising plan fees; merchants reported large increases and plaintiff firms publicized potential class actions. Separately, an ISO can raise its own margin, PCI and non-compliance charges within the terms of the agreement it wrote.
Where Clover is genuinely strong
Three capabilities are core rather than adequate.
In-person point of sale. This is the business. Clover ships a coherent hardware range covering countertop stations, handhelds for table service and line-busting, compact terminals for tight counters, and self-service kiosks. The devices are EMV Level 1 and Level 2 certified and designed as an integrated estate rather than assembled from third-party parts; Clover has passed its four-millionth device shipped. For a single-site restaurant or shop that wants one vendor for the till, the card reader and the merchant account, the integration is real.
Card acceptance. Because Clover accounts settle directly on Fiserv acquiring, card processing is not a bolt-on. It inherits PCI DSS Level 1 scope and network certifications from one of the largest acquirers in the United States.
Contactless and mobile wallets. Every current Clover terminal accepts contactless cards and mobile wallets as standard, and Clover Go turns a phone into a card reader.
Two further areas rate as supported rather than core but carry real weight: the App Market, which gives merchants a route to niche functionality without commissioning custom development, and vertical configuration, with distinct restaurant, quick-service, retail and personal-services builds.
Where Clover falls short
The gaps that matter are the ones that bite the merchants Clover targets.
Fee transparency is the central weakness. Clover publishes software plans and nothing else. The processing rates, PCI charges, monthly minimums and contract terms that determine what a merchant really pays are reseller-set and unpublished. A business that wants to know its cost before it commits has to extract it from a salesperson rather than read it.
Hardware lock-in is structural, not incidental. Clover software runs only on Clover-branded devices, and a device bought under one processor is generally locked to that processor. Some resellers will unlock one; many will not. Switching processors therefore means buying hardware again — exactly the friction that makes a bad contract expensive to leave.
Recurring billing and ACH are third-party. Subscription billing and bank-debit acceptance generally come from App Market apps rather than native features, which means another vendor, another subscription and another support path for a business whose revenue depends on them.
There is no orchestration and no multi-acquirer routing. Clover routes to Fiserv. A business that wants to split volume across acquirers for cost, redundancy or approval rates is in the wrong product category.
High-risk categories are excluded, and cross-border selling is constrained: because each country runs under a separate Fiserv entity, consolidated multi-currency acceptance from one Clover account is not how the product is built.
Ownership, the Payeezy migration and the 2025 securities case
Clover Network was founded in California in 2010 by John Beatty, Leonard Speiser, Mark Schulze and Kelvin Zheng, with seed funding led by Sutter Hill Ventures alongside Andreessen Horowitz. First Data acquired it in December 2012, before the first Clover Station shipped in volume; Fiserv acquired First Data in July 2019. There is no separate Clover ticker.
Under Fiserv, Clover became the growth story the parent told investors. In 2024 Fiserv set public targets of $3.5 billion of Clover revenue in 2025 and $4.5 billion in 2026, against roughly 700,000 businesses served, $2.1 billion of revenue and $272 billion of annualized sales volume at the time. Fiserv also said Clover then delivered about 80% of Toast's restaurant functionality and was aiming for parity.
How that growth was produced is now contested in court. Fiserv began phasing out its older Payeezy gateway from 2023 and moved approximately 200,000 merchants onto Clover, a more expensive platform, between late 2023 and mid-2024. On 24 July 2025 the City of Hollywood Police Officers' Retirement System filed a securities class action in the US District Court for the Southern District of New York alleging that Fiserv inflated Clover's reported growth by compelling those Payeezy merchants to migrate, presented the result as new merchant acquisition, and did not disclose that migrated merchants were then leaving Clover for Square and Toast. The class period runs from 24 July 2024 to 22 July 2025.
That sits alongside the 2024 plan-fee restructuring and a long-running pattern of complaints about undisclosed charges, PCI non-compliance fees and early-termination fees added by resellers rather than by Clover. The status of the 2025 litigation was not confirmed as of July 2026.
How to evaluate a Clover offer
The brand is constant; the deal is not. Evaluating Clover means evaluating the reseller. Establish before signing:
- Who is the counterparty on the merchant agreement. Get the legal entity name. If it is not Fiserv, the terms are a reseller's.
- The full fee schedule in writing — processing, monthly software plan per device, PCI compliance, PCI non-compliance, monthly minimum, statement fee, batch fee, chargeback fee and any annual fee. Ask which of these the reseller can change unilaterally, and with what notice.
- Contract length, auto-renewal and the early-termination amount. Ask for the exact figure or formula, not a description.
- Whether hardware is bought, financed or leased, and who owns it at the end. Standalone equipment leases are frequently non-cancellable and separate from the processing agreement, so a merchant can leave the processor and keep paying for the terminal.
- Whether the device will be unlocked on exit. Ask in writing. A refusal converts a processor switch into a hardware repurchase.
- Which App Market apps the operation depends on, and what each costs. If recurring billing or ACH is coming from a third party, price it in and confirm who supports it.
A competent reseller will answer all of these in writing. One that will not put the early-termination figure or the unlock policy on paper has told you something useful.
Capability assessment
Every company profiled on this site is assessed against the same eighteen dimensions, so the profiles can be read against one another. Each rating carries one sentence of evidence. There is no score out of ten, because a score is not defensible and a sentence is.
Core strength means a primary, differentiating capability. Supported means genuinely offered and documented, but not a differentiator. Limited means partial, geographically restricted, gated behind an enterprise tier, or delivered through a third party. Not offered means what it says. Unclear means the company markets the capability but does not document it well enough to judge — which is itself a finding.
Who Clover suits
- Single-location restaurants and retailers that want POS hardware, software and card acceptance from one vendor with a local bank or ISO to call.
- Merchants whose bank already resells Clover and who value the branch relationship over sharp pricing.
- Businesses that need a specific niche capability available as a Clover App Market app rather than a custom integration.
Who Clover is a poor fit for
- Merchants who want a single published price: Clover is sold through thousands of banks, ISOs and agents, so processing rates, PCI fees and contract terms are set by the reseller and are not published by Clover.
- Merchants who dislike hardware lock-in: Clover software runs only on Clover-branded devices, and a Clover terminal bought under one processor is generally locked to that processor, which makes switching acquirers a hardware replacement rather than a reconfiguration.
- Merchants sensitive to unilateral price changes: Fiserv/Clover raised software plan fees and moved previously bundled software behind paid plans in 2024, prompting merchant complaints and plaintiff-firm activity.
- Merchants who need contract certainty: ISO-sold Fiserv/First Data merchant agreements commonly include multi-year terms, auto-renewal and early-termination fees, and the terms vary by who sold the account.
- Businesses in restricted or high-risk categories, which Fiserv's merchant agreements exclude.
- Merchants on legacy Fiserv products who value being left alone: Fiserv retired its Payeezy gateway from 2023 and moved approximately 200,000 merchants onto the more expensive Clover platform, a migration a 2025 securities complaint describes as compelled rather than chosen.
Competitors and alternatives
| Company | Why a business would choose it instead |
|---|---|
| Square (Block) | Published flat-rate pricing, no reseller layer, and hardware a merchant can buy off the shelf without a multi-year agreement. |
| Toast | Deeper restaurant-specific functionality for full-service operators than Clover's general-purpose POS. |
| Shift4 | Direct-sold POS and acquiring for restaurants and hospitality with its own gateway and terminal estate. |
| SpotOn | Restaurant and services POS sold direct with a named account representative. |
| Lightspeed | Retail and restaurant POS with stronger inventory and multi-location retail depth. |
Clover — frequently asked questions
Who owns Clover?
Clover is a wholly owned business of Fiserv, Inc. Clover Network was founded in 2010, acquired by First Data in December 2012, and became part of Fiserv when Fiserv acquired First Data in July 2019. Clover has no separate stock listing; Fiserv trades on the NYSE under the ticker FI.
Is Clover a payment processor or a POS system?
Clover is the point-of-sale software, the hardware and the merchant-facing brand. The actual processing, underwriting, settlement and acquiring licenses belong to Fiserv and its sponsor banks. In most cases a merchant is sold Clover by a bank, ISO or agent that holds the merchant relationship and sets the pricing, so three different companies can be involved in one Clover account.
Can a Clover terminal be used with another processor?
Generally no. Clover devices are locked to the processor that sold them, and Clover software runs only on Clover-branded hardware. Some resellers will unlock a device on request, but merchants routinely report that a terminal bought under one processor cannot simply be moved to another, which makes switching acquirers a hardware replacement rather than a reconfiguration.
How much does Clover cost?
There is no single Clover price. Clover publishes software subscription plan tiers on clover.com for its own direct channel, but card processing rates, PCI fees, monthly minimums and contract length are set by whichever bank or ISO sold the account. Expect a monthly per-device software fee, hardware purchase or lease, a PCI compliance fee, chargeback fees and any third-party App Market subscriptions on top of processing.
Why did my Clover bill go up?
Two separate things cause this. Fiserv restructured Clover software plans in 2024, moving functionality that had previously been bundled with the hardware into paid tiers and raising plan fees, which produced widely reported merchant complaints. Independently of that, an ISO reseller can increase its own margin, PCI compliance and non-compliance charges under the terms of the merchant agreement it wrote.
What is the 2025 Fiserv lawsuit about Clover?
On 24 July 2025 the City of Hollywood Police Officers' Retirement System filed a securities class action against Fiserv in the US District Court for the Southern District of New York. It alleges Fiserv inflated Clover's growth by compelling roughly 200,000 legacy Payeezy gateway merchants to migrate onto the more expensive Clover platform between late 2023 and mid-2024, reported that as new merchant acquisition, and failed to disclose that those merchants were then leaving for Square and Toast. The class period runs from 24 July 2024 to 22 July 2025 and the allegations remain unproven.
How big is Clover?
Payments Dive reported in 2024 that Clover served roughly 700,000 businesses, generated $2.1 billion of revenue and processed $272 billion in annualized sales volume, with Fiserv targeting $3.5 billion of Clover revenue in 2025 and $4.5 billion in 2026. Those later figures are Fiserv's own targets rather than reported results, and a 2025 securities class action disputes how much of the growth was organic rather than the product of forced migrations from the retired Payeezy gateway. Clover has also said it shipped its four-millionth POS device.
Sources
This profile was built from the following primary and secondary sources. Where sources disagreed, the disagreement is stated in the text rather than resolved silently.
- https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clover_Network
- https://www.clover.com
- https://www.fiserv.com
- https://www.paymentsdive.com/news/fiserv-sued-over-clover-migration/754200/
- https://www.paymentsdive.com/news/fiserv-clover-growth-goals-square-jack-dorsey-smb-merchant-pos-software-serv
- https://www.digitaltransactions.net/clover-notes-sellling-its-4-millionth-pos-device/
- Clover-specific headcount is not disclosed separately from Fiserv.
- Exact current Clover software plan tier names and inclusions were not re-verified against clover.com as of July 2026 (clover.com is JavaScript-rendered and did not return plan content to a plain fetch).
- The precise list of countries where Clover is sold could not be confirmed; Fiserv publishes no single consolidated Clover country list, so the markets field is deliberately hedged.
- Status and outcome of the 2025 Fiserv securities class actions as of July 2026 not confirmed.