PaymentCompanies.com — an index of the payments industry
Processing & AcquiringCommerce / POS Platform

Shopify Payments

Shopify's built-in card acceptance for Shopify stores, processed by Stripe under Shopify's brand, pricing, risk rules and merchant agreement.

Last reviewed July 2026 · independently researched · not sponsored

What Shopify Payments actually is

Shopify Payments is not a payment processor. It is Shopify's own-brand wrapper over somebody else's processing. Shopify's US Shopify Payments Terms of Service name Stripe, Inc. — or its affiliate Bridge — and PayPal, Inc. as the payment processors that may act as agents for the underlying financial services providers. Shopify sets the price, holds the merchant contract, applies its own risk rules and provides the support. Stripe moves the transaction.

This is a legitimate and common arrangement, and for most Shopify merchants it works well. But the distinction has practical consequences that surface exactly when things go wrong. A merchant whose payouts are frozen cannot call Stripe, because Stripe has no relationship with that merchant. The decision was Shopify's, the terms are Shopify's, and the remedy — if any — has to come from Shopify.

Shopify Payments launched in August 2013 in partnership with Stripe. It is available only to merchants selling on Shopify, in a published subset of the countries where Shopify itself operates. It is not embedded-payments infrastructure other platforms can license, and it is not a payments API — developers build against Shopify's platform APIs, not against a Shopify Payments payments layer.

The third-party transaction fee, and why it decides everything else

Shopify charges an additional per-order fee on every transaction taken through any payment gateway other than Shopify Payments. That fee sits on top of whatever the third-party gateway itself charges. The practical effect is that an outside processor on Shopify always costs its own rate plus a Shopify surcharge, which is the mechanism that keeps merchants on Shopify Payments.

The fee applies even when Shopify Payments is switched on. Shopify's own help documentation states that third-party transaction fees apply on all third-party and alternate payment gateways even when Shopify Payments is activated. Turning Shopify Payments on does not buy a merchant the right to route some orders elsewhere for free. The documented exceptions are PayPal and manual payment methods, which are excluded while Shopify Payments is active, and a possible waiver on the Shopify Plus tier depending on location.

Two consequences follow, and neither is obvious from Shopify's marketing.

First, a merchant with genuinely better pricing negotiated elsewhere may still be worse off using it. The comparison is not outside gateway against Shopify Payments; it is outside gateway plus Shopify's surcharge against Shopify Payments. A rate advantage has to be large enough to clear that surcharge before it becomes a saving.

Second, the surcharge is not a fixed cost of doing business — it scales down as the merchant moves up Shopify plan tiers. So the real cost of using an outside processor depends on which Shopify subscription the store is on, which means the decision about processors and the decision about subscription tier are the same decision.

Shopify does not publish a cost justification for the fee. Critics characterize it as a penalty designed to make competing processors artificially expensive on Shopify rather than a recovery of any underlying cost. Shopify has not published anything that contradicts that reading.

How Shopify Payments prices

Pricing is published, which is genuinely better than most of the merchant-acquiring market. Shopify posts flat-rate card pricing by plan tier on its own pricing page, along with the third-party transaction fee schedule. Enterprise Shopify Plus terms are negotiated and not published.

Flat-rate pricing. A single blended rate per transaction regardless of the card presented. It is simple to forecast and it is usually more expensive than interchange-plus for a merchant with large volume, because the blended rate has to cover the most expensive cards the merchant might accept. Interchange-plus, by contrast, passes through the network-set interchange cost and adds a disclosed margin, so the merchant benefits when cheap cards are used.

Structurally, the components are: the Shopify platform subscription, which is required and functions as the effective minimum; a flat card processing rate that falls as the plan tier rises; the third-party transaction fee on any competing gateway; chargeback fees; a currency conversion fee on cross-border and multi-currency sales; and separate published handling for American Express and premium cards. Card-present and card-not-present rates differ, and both are higher on lower plan tiers.

There is no term commitment on Shopify Payments itself and no early-termination fee. The commitment lives in the Shopify plan — annual plans are prepaid — not in the payments product.

The notable feature of this model is how a merchant lowers its rate. On a conventional acquiring relationship, you negotiate. On Shopify, you buy a more expensive subscription. That works cleanly for a growing store and works badly for a large merchant that could have negotiated interchange-plus directly with an acquirer.

Where Shopify Payments is genuinely strong

Checkout integration. This is the real product. Shopify Payments is wired directly into Shopify's cart, fraud analysis, order management and reporting, so there is no gateway to configure, no separate merchant account application, and no reconciliation between two systems. For a store already on Shopify in a supported country, turning it on is a switch rather than a project.

Wallets and accelerated checkout. Apple Pay, Google Pay and Shop Pay all work at Shopify checkout when Shopify Payments is enabled. Shop Pay's one-tap checkout depends on it, and for direct-to-consumer stores the conversion effect of a stored, network-wide accelerated checkout is the single strongest commercial argument for the product.

Card acceptance as the default. Processing sits under PCI DSS Level 1 scope through Stripe, with card network rules applied through the underlying acquirer. A merchant inherits that compliance posture without having to build toward it.

Three further capabilities are supported rather than core but worth noting: in-person acceptance through Shopify POS terminals in supported countries, giving one settlement and reporting view across online and retail; multi-currency selling and settlement through Shopify Markets, subject to a published conversion fee; and USDC stablecoin acceptance for eligible merchants through Shopify's Base and Coinbase integration. Shopify has also published catalog and checkout integrations for AI agent shopping surfaces, positioning Shopify checkout as the settlement point for agent-initiated purchases.

Where it falls short

Funding is discretionary and the terms say so. The US Shopify Payments Terms of Service permit Shopify to set the terms of a reserve account requiring that an amount of transaction funds — including the full amount — be held for a period Shopify determines, with no interest payable to the merchant. The same terms permit Shopify to terminate the agreement and close the account at any time, for any reason, upon notice. Abrupt holds and payout freezes are a recurring merchant complaint. These are ordinary risk provisions for a facilitator model, but a merchant should read them before building a cash-flow plan around Shopify payouts.

Country availability is a trap for some merchants. Shopify Payments is not offered in every country where Shopify sells. Merchants in those markets must use a third-party gateway, which means they pay Shopify's third-party transaction fee on their entire volume with no way to opt out and no product available to them that would remove it.

There is no orchestration and no processor choice worth the name. Shopify Payments routes to its own stack. Using an alternative gateway is not a routing option, it is a surcharged exception.

Recurring billing and bank debit are thin. Subscription billing on Shopify comes from Shopify's subscription APIs and third-party apps rather than natively from the payments product. Bank-debit acceptance exists only through particular local payment methods in particular markets.

Category restrictions are unilateral. Shopify maintains prohibited and restricted business lists that exclude a range of categories, including several that are entirely legal, and Shopify can amend those lists on its own initiative. High-risk verticals are not served.

Leaving is one project, not two. The payment relationship, the stored card vault and the checkout all belong to Shopify. A merchant migrating off the platform is migrating the payments at the same time, and cannot decouple the two to reduce the risk.

Ownership, history and the Stripe relationship

Shopify Inc. was established in Ottawa in 2006 by Tobias Lütke, Daniel Weinand and Scott Lake, growing out of the Snowdevil store they had launched in 2004. Shopify Payments arrived in August 2013 in partnership with Stripe, giving merchants card acceptance without arranging a third-party gateway. Shop Pay — originally Shopify Pay — followed in 2017 as the accelerated checkout layer on top. In 2020 Shopify announced Shopify Balance, built with Stripe and Evolve Bank, extending the Stripe relationship from payments into banking-style services. Shopify moved its US listing from the NYSE to Nasdaq on 31 March 2025 and joined the Nasdaq-100 that May; it trades as SHOP on both Nasdaq and the TSX.

The Stripe relationship is worth being precise about, because Shopify's marketing pages no longer describe the product as powered by Stripe. The documentation is in the legal terms: the current US Shopify Payments Terms of Service name Stripe, Inc. or its affiliate Bridge, and PayPal, Inc., as the payment processors. The terms do not allocate which transaction types go to which processor, and the acquiring banks behind Shopify Payments in the US are not named publicly.

Shopify does not disclose Shopify Payments headcount or volume separately from Shopify Inc., so there is no way to size the product independently from public filings.

How to evaluate Shopify Payments

For most Shopify stores in supported countries, this is a short evaluation: turn it on, because the alternative carries a surcharge. The evaluation gets real for merchants with volume, merchants in unsupported countries, and merchants in categories that might attract attention.

  • Model the surcharge, not the rate. If you are comparing an outside processor, add Shopify's third-party transaction fee at your current plan tier to that processor's quote. That is the number to compare.
  • Check whether a higher plan tier is cheaper overall. Because both the card rate and the third-party fee fall with plan tier, a subscription upgrade can be net cheaper at sufficient volume. Run it against last year's actual order count.
  • Confirm Shopify Payments is available in your country before you build a cost model. If it is not, the third-party fee applies to all of your volume permanently and belongs in your baseline costs.
  • Read the reserve and termination clauses. Know that reserve terms are at Shopify's discretion, that no interest accrues on held funds, and that the account can be closed on notice. Then decide how much operating runway you want independent of Shopify payouts.
  • Check your products against the prohibited and restricted lists — and against the possibility of the lists changing. A legal but restricted product is the most common cause of an unexpected account action.
  • If you sell cross-border, price the conversion fee explicitly. Multi-currency selling through Shopify Markets carries a published conversion charge that is easy to omit from a margin model.
  • If you might leave Shopify one day, ask now what leaves with you. The card vault and checkout are Shopify's, and that is a migration constraint, not a footnote.

Capability assessment

Every company profiled on this site is assessed against the same eighteen dimensions, so the profiles can be read against one another. Each rating carries one sentence of evidence. There is no score out of ten, because a score is not defensible and a sentence is.

Core strength means a primary, differentiating capability. Supported means genuinely offered and documented, but not a differentiator. Limited means partial, geographically restricted, gated behind an enterprise tier, or delivered through a third party. Not offered means what it says. Unclear means the company markets the capability but does not document it well enough to judge — which is itself a finding.

Card processing
Core strength
Shopify Payments is the default card-acceptance method for Shopify stores, with processing performed by Stripe under Shopify's own merchant agreement and pricing.
Online & e-commerce
Core strength
Shopify Payments exists specifically to take card payments at Shopify checkout and is deeply integrated with Shopify's cart, fraud analysis and order management.
In-person / POS
Supported
Shopify Payments processes in-person card transactions through Shopify POS terminals and card readers in supported countries.
Mobile & contactless
Core strength
Shopify checkout supports Apple Pay, Google Pay and Shop Pay's accelerated one-tap checkout when Shopify Payments is enabled.
Recurring & subscription billing
Limited
Subscription billing on Shopify is delivered through Shopify's subscription APIs and third-party subscription apps rather than as a native Shopify Payments feature.
ACH & bank debit
Limited
Bank-debit acceptance is available only through certain local payment methods and markets rather than as a general Shopify Payments capability.
Instant / real-time payments
Limited
Shopify offers faster payouts through Shopify Balance in supported markets, but not real-time payment rails as a consumer acceptance method.
Cross-border & FX
Supported
Shopify Markets and Shopify Payments support selling and settling in multiple currencies, with a published currency conversion fee applied to converted sales.
Embedded payments / PayFac
Not offered
Shopify Payments is available only to merchants selling on Shopify and is not offered as embedded payments infrastructure to other platforms.
Payment orchestration
Not offered
Shopify Payments routes to its own processing stack, and using an alternative gateway triggers Shopify's additional third-party transaction fee rather than being an orchestration option.
Payment links & invoicing
Supported
Shopify supports draft-order invoices and checkout links that settle through Shopify Payments.
High-risk acceptance
Not offered
Shopify's prohibited and restricted business lists exclude a range of categories from Shopify Payments, and that list is amended unilaterally by Shopify.
Fraud & risk tooling
Supported
Shopify provides built-in fraud analysis on orders and an optional chargeback protection product for eligible Shopify Payments merchants.
Developer API & docs
Limited
Developers build against Shopify's platform APIs rather than a Shopify Payments payments API; the payments layer itself is not exposed as a general-purpose API.
Fee transparency
Supported
Shopify publishes its card rates and third-party transaction fees by plan on its pricing page, though enterprise Plus terms are negotiated and not published.
Vertical specialisation
Not offered
Shopify Payments is a horizontal e-commerce payment method rather than a vertical-specific product.
Crypto & stablecoin
Supported
Shopify has enabled USDC stablecoin payments for eligible merchants through its Base/Coinbase integration, alongside third-party crypto payment apps.
Agentic & AI-initiated payments
Supported
Shopify has published catalog and checkout integrations for AI agent shopping surfaces, positioning Shopify checkout as the settlement point for agent-initiated purchases.

Who Shopify Payments suits

  • Stores already on Shopify in a country where Shopify Payments is supported, where turning it on removes the third-party transaction fee and enables Shop Pay.
  • Direct-to-consumer brands that want checkout, fraud screening, payouts and reporting inside one admin with no separate merchant-account application.
  • Merchants using Shopify POS who want one settlement and reporting view across online and in-store.
  • Small merchants who want published flat-rate pricing without negotiating interchange-plus.

Who Shopify Payments is a poor fit for

  • Merchants who want to choose their own processor: Shopify charges an extra per-order fee on every transaction taken through a third-party gateway, even when Shopify Payments is also active, so a merchant with a better negotiated rate elsewhere pays that rate plus Shopify's penalty fee.
  • Merchants in countries where Shopify Payments is not offered — they have no way to avoid the third-party transaction fee, so the penalty applies to their entire volume through no choice of their own.
  • High-volume merchants who could negotiate interchange-plus directly with an acquirer: Shopify Payments is flat-rate by plan tier, and the way to lower the rate is to buy a more expensive Shopify plan rather than to negotiate.
  • Merchants who need funding certainty: Shopify's US Shopify Payments terms let Shopify set reserve terms at its discretion, hold up to the full amount of transaction funds, pay no interest on reserved funds, and terminate the account 'at any time, for any reason, upon notice'.
  • Merchants in categories on Shopify's prohibited or restricted business list, which Shopify can amend unilaterally, including several legal-but-restricted verticals.
  • Merchants planning to leave Shopify: the payment relationship, the stored card vault and the checkout all belong to Shopify, so migrating the store and migrating the payments are the same project.
  • Merchants who want to speak to their processor: support runs through Shopify, and the actual processor (Stripe) has no direct relationship with the merchant.

Competitors and alternatives

CompanyWhy a business would choose it instead
Stripe (direct)The same underlying processing without Shopify's plan-tier pricing, but on Shopify it would count as a third-party gateway and attract Shopify's extra transaction fee.
PayPal / BraintreePayPal is exempted from Shopify's third-party transaction fee when Shopify Payments is active, which makes it the cheapest alternative rail on Shopify.
AdyenInterchange-plus pricing and a single global acquiring platform for merchants large enough to negotiate, typically via Shopify Plus.
Authorize.netLets a merchant keep an existing merchant account, at the cost of Shopify's third-party transaction fee.
Checkout.comEnterprise acquiring with negotiated rates and multi-acquirer routing for large cross-border merchants.

Shopify Payments — frequently asked questions

Is Shopify Payments the same as Stripe?

No, but Stripe does the processing. Shopify's US Shopify Payments Terms of Service name Stripe, Inc. or its affiliate Bridge, and PayPal, Inc., as the payment processors. The merchant's contract, pricing, risk decisions and support all belong to Shopify, so a merchant using Shopify Payments has no direct relationship with Stripe and cannot escalate to Stripe if funds are held.

What is Shopify's third-party transaction fee?

It is an additional per-order fee Shopify charges on every transaction taken through a payment gateway other than Shopify Payments, charged on top of whatever the outside gateway charges. Shopify's help documentation states the fee applies on all third-party and alternate payment gateways even when Shopify Payments is activated, with PayPal and manual payment methods excluded while Shopify Payments is on. The fee falls as the merchant moves to higher Shopify plan tiers and may be waived on Shopify Plus depending on location.

Can I use Stripe directly on Shopify instead of Shopify Payments?

Yes. Stripe is available on Shopify as a third-party gateway, but choosing it triggers Shopify's additional third-party transaction fee on every order, in addition to Stripe's own processing charge. A merchant would need a negotiated rate good enough to more than offset that surcharge before the arrangement saves money.

Can Shopify hold my money?

Yes. The US Shopify Payments Terms of Service state that Shopify may in its discretion set the terms of a reserve account requiring that a certain amount of transaction funds, up to and including the full amount, be held for a period Shopify determines, and that the merchant is not entitled to interest on reserved funds. Merchants report abrupt holds and payout freezes as a recurring issue, so businesses dependent on daily settlement should keep independent operating runway.

Can Shopify close my Shopify Payments account?

Yes. The US Shopify Payments terms permit Shopify to terminate the agreement and close the Shopify Payments account at any time, for any reason, upon notice, and to suspend an account on risk or card network rule grounds. Shopify also maintains prohibited and restricted business lists that it can amend unilaterally, which is the most common trigger for an account action against an otherwise legal business.

Does Shopify Payments work in every country where Shopify sells?

No. Shopify Payments is available only in a published subset of the countries where Shopify itself operates. Merchants in unsupported countries must use a third-party gateway and therefore pay Shopify's third-party transaction fee on all of their volume, with no available option that would remove it.

How does a merchant lower its Shopify Payments rate?

By moving to a higher Shopify plan tier rather than by negotiating. Shopify publishes flat-rate card pricing by plan, and both the card rate and the third-party transaction fee decrease as the subscription tier rises. Only Shopify Plus terms are negotiated, and those are not published, so a high-volume merchant that could obtain interchange-plus pricing directly from an acquirer has no route to it inside standard Shopify Payments.

Sources

This profile was built from the following primary and secondary sources. Where sources disagreed, the disagreement is stated in the text rather than resolved silently.

Not verified. The following could not be confirmed from a source we consider reliable, and is therefore not asserted anywhere above.
  • The precise division of processing between Stripe and PayPal under the current US Shopify Payments terms is not spelled out by Shopify; the terms name both as processors without allocating transaction types.
  • The acquiring bank(s) behind Shopify Payments in the US are not named in the public terms.
  • The current full list of countries where Shopify Payments is available was not enumerated from shopify.com as of July 2026.
  • Shopify's own marketing pages do not currently describe Shopify Payments as 'powered by Stripe'; the Stripe relationship is documented in the US Shopify Payments Terms of Service, which names Stripe, Inc. (or affiliate Bridge) as a processor, and in Wikipedia's account of the August 2013 launch 'in partnership with Stripe'.
  • Shopify Payments-specific headcount and volume are not disclosed separately from Shopify Inc.