What GoCardless actually is
GoCardless collects money by pulling it out of the payer's bank account rather than charging a card. A business sets up a mandate — the payer's standing authorization to be debited — and then collects on schedule through GoCardless's API, its dashboard, or an integration with accounting and billing software such as Xero, QuickBooks, Zuora and Salesforce. It covers Bacs Direct Debit in the United Kingdom, SEPA Direct Debit across the eurozone, ACH debit in the United States, BECS in Australia and New Zealand, PAD in Canada, and Autogiro and Betalingsservice in the Nordics.
The commercial insight that built the company is that scheme access is hard to get. Becoming a Bacs service user or a SEPA Direct Debit creditor in your own right requires sponsorship, indemnity arrangements and operational compliance that most businesses cannot justify. GoCardless holds those permissions and lets its customers collect underneath them. Funds are collected into GoCardless and paid out to the business on a settlement cycle.
Alongside the mandate business, GoCardless sells open banking payment initiation under the name Instant Bank Pay, plus account information services acquired with the Latvian firm Nordigen in July 2022. It bought Sentenial and its Nuapay bank-payments business from EML Payments in March 2024. Founded in London in February 2011 by Hiroki Takeuchi, Tom Blomfield and Matt Robinson, it states it serves more than 100,000 businesses.
How the money moves, and who carries the reversal risk
Direct debit inverts the card model. Instead of the customer authorizing each payment, the customer authorizes the relationship once and the business initiates each collection. That makes billing reliable and it moves risk onto the business in a way many buyers discover late.
The other structural feature to understand is timing. A mandate takes days to set up and a first collection takes days to clear on most schemes. GoCardless is a billing rail, not a checkout. A business that needs money from a first-time customer at the moment of purchase cannot use direct debit for it; Instant Bank Pay narrows that gap by initiating an immediate bank transfer through open banking, but only where open banking coverage exists.
Because the business collects under GoCardless's scheme access rather than its own, GoCardless occupies a gatekeeping position. Its acceptable use policy determines eligibility, and its willingness to keep sponsoring a given customer determines continuity. A business that outgrows the model, or that falls outside the policy, has to migrate its mandates to another provider or to its own scheme access — and scheme rules require payers to be notified when that happens, which turns an internal vendor change into a customer communication exercise.
GoCardless is regulated as a payment institution by the Financial Conduct Authority in the United Kingdom, with GoCardless SAS authorized in France for European Economic Area business after Brexit, and it holds open banking permissions as both a payment initiation and an account information service provider.
How GoCardless prices
GoCardless publishes its pricing, which is genuinely unusual among bank-payment providers and is the reason fee transparency is rated core here. Three self-serve plans — Standard, Advanced and Pro — are priced as a percentage plus a fixed fee per transaction, with a cap on the per-transaction fee for domestic payments, and the higher tiers bundle in the failure-recovery and fraud add-ons. A negotiated Custom plan exists for larger businesses, with volume-based discounts and monthly invoicing rather than fees deducted from each transaction.
The per-transaction cap is the structurally interesting part. A card fee is generally an uncapped percentage, so the cost of accepting a large invoice scales with its size. A capped fee stops rising above a certain ticket value. For businesses collecting substantial invoices, this changes the arithmetic of bank debit versus cards more than any headline rate comparison does.
Contract terms are unusually clean: monthly rolling, with GoCardless stating customers can change plan or close the account at any time, plan changes taking effect from the first of the following month with a short notice period. No early-termination charge is stated on the published self-serve plans.
What buyers should read carefully is the list of things priced separately:
- A higher percentage tier applies to international and cross-currency transactions.
- An additional percentage surcharge applies to transactions above a high-value threshold.
- Showing your own business name on the payer's bank statement is a chargeable monthly add-on.
- A fully custom checkout is a chargeable monthly add-on.
- Failed-payment recovery (Success+) and fraud prevention (Protect+) are bundled into higher-priced tiers rather than included in the base plan.
The statement descriptor point is the one that catches people. Most businesses assume their own name appearing on a customer's bank statement is a baseline feature rather than a line item, and discovering otherwise after launch generates support contacts from confused payers.
Where GoCardless is genuinely strong
Recurring collection. This is the founding product and it remains the best reason to use the company. Mandate management, collection scheduling and retry handling are built in rather than bolted on. Because a mandate does not expire and cannot be declined for reissue, the involuntary churn that card expiry and card decline cause in subscription businesses simply does not occur.
Scheme breadth. Bacs, SEPA Direct Debit, ACH, BECS, PAD and the Nordic schemes are all first-class products, not an afterthought rail attached to a card platform. A business collecting across several of these countries can do it through one provider and one integration, which is not true of most alternatives.
Published pricing. Plan prices, per-transaction caps, international rates and add-on fees are all on the public site rather than gated behind a sales conversation. In a category where opacity is the norm, being able to model cost before contacting anyone is a real advantage, and it should count in GoCardless's favor.
Accounting-software integration. Direct integrations with Xero, QuickBooks, Zuora and Salesforce mean an invoice can trigger a bank debit without a billing build. For small and mid-sized businesses this is often the entire value proposition.
Embedded use by platforms. A partner and white-label program lets software platforms offer bank debit to their own users while GoCardless holds the scheme access and regulatory permissions. The platform gets a payments feature without a payments license.
Developer tooling. A documented REST API with client libraries, a sandbox and webhooks, which is how most platform and software-as-a-service customers integrate it.
Where GoCardless falls short
It is not a checkout. Mandate setup and first collection take days on most schemes, so GoCardless cannot serve a first-time buyer who must pay now. Instant Bank Pay helps only where open banking coverage exists. Any business selling one-off purchases to new customers needs something else for that moment.
No cards. GoCardless does not process card payments at all. Almost every business using it runs a second provider alongside, with the duplicated reconciliation, support and vendor management that implies.
Reversal risk is the worst in mainstream payments. The Direct Debit Guarantee and SEPA refund rights give payers unilateral reversal with no merchant defense. This is why high-risk suitability is rated none: it is not that GoCardless is squeamish, it is that the schemes themselves make dispute-prone categories unworkable, and its acceptable use policy excludes a range of business types accordingly.
Branding costs extra. Your name on the payer's bank statement and a fully branded checkout are chargeable monthly add-ons, not standard features.
You collect under someone else's scheme access. Continuity depends on GoCardless remaining willing to sponsor you and on your staying inside its acceptable use policy. Businesses that want a direct scheme relationship — their own Bacs Service User Number, their own indemnity — need a Bacs bureau such as Bottomline rather than GoCardless.
Foreign exchange is a partner capability. GoCardless markets an international payments capability across more than thirty countries, but the FX itself is supplied through a partner rather than in-house, and not every scheme is available on every plan or in every country.
No orchestration, no crypto, no in-person acceptance, no agentic payments. These are correctly rated none. GoCardless is a bank-debit specialist and does not pretend otherwise.
The Mollie acquisition and why it matters now
On 11 December 2025 the Dutch payments company Mollie announced it had signed an agreement to acquire GoCardless. Mollie did not disclose a price; press reports put it at around €1.05 billion. The transaction was subject to customary closing conditions including regulatory approvals, with completion expected in mid-2026, and Mollie said integration would proceed in a thoughtful, phased manner with an unwavering commitment to service continuity. Mollie described the combination as creating Europe's most complete payment platform, serving over 350,000 businesses across card, bank and local payment methods.
As of July 2026 GoCardless's own website — homepage, pricing page, press page and blog — carried no reference to Mollie ownership. The correct reading is that the deal is confirmed as signed and not confirmed as closed. Anyone signing a GoCardless agreement now should establish the current corporate position directly rather than assuming either state.
The strategic fit is real. Mollie covers cards, iDEAL, SEPA Direct Debit and local European methods; GoCardless covers direct debit schemes across more geographies plus open banking. A merged company answers the objection that GoCardless customers must run a second provider for cards — which was, until this announcement, the strongest structural argument against choosing it.
The risks are the familiar ones. Product roadmap, pricing and support model all become subject to an integration the acquirer itself calls phased. GoCardless's published-pricing discipline is a policy choice, not a law of nature, and policy choices survive acquisitions only when the acquirer shares them. A business signing a multi-year commitment should ask what happens to its plan, its price and its named support arrangements if and when the deal closes, and should want that answer in the contract.
How to evaluate GoCardless before you commit
Bank debit rewards the businesses it suits and punishes the ones it does not, so the evaluation is mostly about fit rather than about vendor comparison.
- Test the timing against your sales process. Map how many days pass between a customer agreeing to buy and money arriving, for each scheme you will use. If your cash cycle cannot absorb that, direct debit is not your primary rail.
- Model your ticket size against the per-transaction cap. The cap is where bank debit beats cards decisively, and it only applies to domestic collections. If your invoices are small, the advantage shrinks; if they are large, it can be substantial.
- Price the add-ons you actually need. Statement descriptor branding, custom checkout, Success+ and Protect+ change the effective cost meaningfully. Compare total configured cost, not headline plan cost.
- Stress-test your dispute exposure. Estimate what proportion of collections might be reversed under the Direct Debit Guarantee or SEPA refund rights in a bad month, and confirm your business can absorb reversals you cannot contest.
- Confirm your category is inside the acceptable use policy in writing, before building. Scheme access is GoCardless's to grant and to withdraw.
- Ask what migrating away looks like. Mandates collected under GoCardless's scheme access have to be migrated and payers notified under scheme rules. Understand that exit before you need it, not after.
- Check scheme availability on your intended plan. Not every scheme is offered in every country or on every tier, and this is the detail most likely to be assumed rather than verified.
- Ask about the Mollie transaction explicitly. Whether it has closed, what changes to pricing or support are planned, and what contractual protection you have if terms change.
Capability assessment
Every company profiled on this site is assessed against the same eighteen dimensions, so the profiles can be read against one another. Each rating carries one sentence of evidence. There is no score out of ten, because a score is not defensible and a sentence is.
Core strength means a primary, differentiating capability. Supported means genuinely offered and documented, but not a differentiator. Limited means partial, geographically restricted, gated behind an enterprise tier, or delivered through a third party. Not offered means what it says. Unclear means the company markets the capability but does not document it well enough to judge — which is itself a finding.
Who GoCardless suits
- Subscription and membership businesses billing the same customers repeatedly, where a mandate removes card expiry and card-decline churn entirely.
- Businesses in the UK and Europe where direct debit is a normal and expected way to pay, and where Bacs or SEPA costs materially less than card interchange on higher-ticket invoices.
- Accounting-led businesses that want collection triggered directly from Xero or QuickBooks invoices without a separate billing build.
- SaaS platforms that want to offer bank debit to their own users without obtaining Bacs or SEPA scheme access themselves.
- Businesses with high average transaction values, where GoCardless's per-transaction fee cap makes bank debit dramatically cheaper than a percentage-based card fee.
Who GoCardless is a poor fit for
- Anyone selling to a first-time customer who must pay immediately: direct debit mandates take days to set up and collect on most schemes, so GoCardless is a billing rail, not a checkout. Instant Bank Pay narrows this gap only where open banking coverage exists.
- Businesses that cannot tolerate payer-initiated reversals: the UK Direct Debit Guarantee gives payers an immediate refund on request with no time limit and no merchant right of reply, and SEPA Core Direct Debit allows an unconditional refund for eight weeks and up to thirteen months for unauthorised collections. The reversal risk profile is worse than cards, not better.
- Merchants who assume branding is included: showing your own business name on the payer's bank statement and running a fully branded checkout are both chargeable monthly add-ons on GoCardless's published pricing, not standard features.
- Merchants who need card acceptance as well: GoCardless does not process cards at all, so almost every business using it runs a second provider alongside.
- Businesses in categories GoCardless's acceptable use policy excludes, or those whose scheme sponsors object — scheme access is GoCardless's to grant, and a business collecting under GoCardless's Bacs facility is dependent on GoCardless remaining willing to sponsor it.
- Buyers who need ownership certainty: Mollie announced on 11 December 2025 that it had signed an agreement to acquire GoCardless, with completion expected mid-2026 subject to regulatory approvals. Product roadmap, pricing and support model are therefore subject to an integration Mollie itself describes as 'phased', and anyone signing a multi-year agreement should confirm the current corporate position before doing so.
Competitors and alternatives
| Company | Why a business would choose it instead |
|---|---|
| Stripe | Offers ACH Direct Debit, Bacs and SEPA alongside cards, so a business that needs both rails can consolidate on one vendor. |
| Adyen | Covers SEPA Direct Debit and local bank methods alongside card acquiring for larger enterprises. |
| Mollie | A European payments company covering cards, iDEAL, SEPA Direct Debit and local methods — and, since December 2025, the agreed acquirer of GoCardless, so the two are converging rather than competing. |
| Bottomline and Bacs bureaux | Traditional UK Bacs bureau software for businesses that want their own Service User Number and direct scheme relationship rather than collecting under a provider's facility. |
| TrueLayer | Open banking payment initiation specialist competing directly with Instant Bank Pay for the pay-by-bank use case. |
| Plaid and Modern Treasury (US) | In the US market, ACH debit with account verification is served by specialists that do not carry GoCardless's European direct-debit focus. |
GoCardless — frequently asked questions
What is GoCardless and how does it work?
GoCardless collects payments by debiting the payer's bank account under a mandate rather than charging a card. It holds the scheme access itself — Bacs in the United Kingdom, SEPA Direct Debit in the eurozone, ACH in the United States, BECS in Australia and New Zealand, PAD in Canada, plus Nordic schemes — so its customers do not need their own scheme sponsorship. It also offers open-banking-initiated instant bank payments under the name Instant Bank Pay. It was founded in London in 2011 by Hiroki Takeuchi, Tom Blomfield and Matt Robinson.
Can customers reverse a GoCardless payment?
Yes, and this is the central risk of bank debit. The UK Direct Debit Guarantee entitles the payer to an immediate refund from their bank on request, with no time limit and no right of reply for the business. SEPA Core Direct Debit allows an unconditional refund within eight weeks of collection and up to thirteen months where the collection was unauthorized. There is no representment process comparable to a card chargeback defense, which makes bank debit unsuitable for dispute-prone categories.
Is GoCardless cheaper than card payments?
Structurally it can be, particularly for high-value invoices, because GoCardless's published domestic pricing is a percentage plus a fixed fee subject to a per-transaction cap — so the fee stops rising above a certain ticket size, unlike an uncapped card percentage. Against that, direct debit settles more slowly than cards and carries stronger payer reversal rights. International and cross-currency collections are priced at a higher tier, and several features are chargeable add-ons.
Does GoCardless take card payments?
No. GoCardless handles bank debit and open banking only — it does not process card payments at all. Businesses that need card acceptance run a separate card provider alongside it. This is the main structural argument for the pending Mollie acquisition, since Mollie covers cards and local European methods that GoCardless does not.
Who owns GoCardless?
GoCardless has historically been an independent, venture-backed company, with investors including Y Combinator, Google Ventures, Accel, Balderton, Salesforce Ventures and BlackRock, and a $312 million round in 2022 at a reported $2.1 billion valuation. On 11 December 2025 the Dutch payments company Mollie announced it had signed an agreement to acquire GoCardless, with completion expected mid-2026 subject to regulatory approvals. Mollie did not disclose a price; press reports put it around €1.05 billion. As of July 2026 GoCardless's own website still made no reference to Mollie ownership.
Can I use GoCardless as a checkout for one-off purchases?
Not effectively. Setting up a direct debit mandate and completing a first collection takes days on most schemes, so GoCardless is a billing rail rather than a checkout for customers who must pay at the moment of purchase. Instant Bank Pay, which initiates an immediate bank transfer through open banking, narrows the gap but is only available in markets with open banking coverage. Businesses selling one-off items to new customers generally need a card or wallet option as well.
What is the difference between GoCardless and Stripe for direct debit?
Stripe offers Bacs, SEPA Direct Debit and ACH alongside card processing, so a business needing both rails can consolidate on one vendor. GoCardless is bank-debit-native with broader scheme coverage — including BECS, PAD and Nordic schemes — plus mandate management, intelligent retries through Success+, direct accounting-software integrations, and a published per-transaction fee cap. The trade-off is running two vendors instead of one.
Sources
This profile was built from the following primary and secondary sources. Where sources disagreed, the disagreement is stated in the text rather than resolved silently.
- https://gocardless.com
- https://gocardless.com/pricing/
- https://gocardless.com/press/
- https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GoCardless
- https://www.mollie.com/news/mollie-to-acquire-gocardless
- The Mollie acquisition is CONFIRMED as signed from Mollie's own announcement dated 11 December 2025 (https://www.mollie.com/news/mollie-to-acquire-gocardless), which states completion was expected mid-2026 subject to regulatory approvals. What could NOT be confirmed is whether the deal has actually closed — GoCardless's own homepage, pricing page, press page and blog carried no mention of Mollie as of July 2026. The widely cited €1.05 billion price comes from press reports; Mollie itself did not disclose a value.
- Employee count and current financials (revenue, profitability, headcount reductions) could not be confirmed and are recorded as null or omitted.
- FCA and ACPR authorisation details are stated from general knowledge of GoCardless's regulated structure and were not verified against the FCA Register or REGAFI in this session; no firm reference number is recorded.
- The office list beyond London is partly inferred from acquisitions and market launches and was not confirmed against a GoCardless careers or contact page.
- The $130 billion annual payment volume and 100,000 business figures are as reported for 2025 on Wikipedia and the GoCardless site respectively; they were not reconciled to a filed account.
- The specific scheme availability by plan (which schemes are on Standard vs Advanced vs Pro vs Custom) was not fully verified.