PaymentCompanies.com — an index of the payments industry
Infrastructure & EnablementBank Rails

Dwolla

A US bank-payments API that lets software platforms move money over ACH, the RTP network and FedNow through one integration, with transfers performed by partner banks.

Last reviewed July 2026 · independently researched · not sponsored

What Dwolla actually is

Dwolla sells an application programming interface for moving money over United States bank rails. Its customers are software platforms and enterprises — not consumers, not retail merchants — that need to push and pull funds between their users' bank accounts without becoming a regulated money transmitter or building direct integrations with banks themselves. One integration covers standard ACH and Same Day ACH, instant payments over the RTP network and the FedNow Service, bank account verification and tokenization through open banking, a stored-value Dwolla Balance wallet, and batch disbursement through Mass Pay.

What Dwolla is not is the institution moving the money, and it says so itself: its own site states that all funds transfers made using the Dwolla platform are performed by a financial institution partner. Dwolla supplies the API, the orchestration, the tokenization and the reconciliation. A partner bank supplies the regulated money movement and the settlement.

This is not the Dwolla people remember. The company launched in 2010 as a consumer alternative to card networks — a low-cost peer-to-peer and merchant payment service. That business never reached scale and was abandoned in 2016 in favor of selling infrastructure to businesses. Anyone evaluating Dwolla on the strength of the consumer brand is evaluating a company that no longer exists.

Founded in Des Moines, Iowa in 2008 by Ben Milne and Shane Neuerburg, Dwolla cites more than 126 million annual transactions and more than 25 million end users as of July 2026. Since 19 May 2026 it has been a wholly owned subsidiary of NMI, the card gateway and embedded-payments company.

Who actually moves the money, and who carries what

Understanding Dwolla means separating four roles that a single API call blurs together.

  • The end payer or payee — the renter, the borrower, the supplier — holds a bank account and never has a relationship with Dwolla. They may never see the name.
  • Dwolla's customer, the platform or enterprise, owns that commercial relationship entirely. It sets the terms, handles the support, and answers for the payment experience.
  • Dwolla provides the API, account tokenization, rail routing, webhooks, the Balance wallet ledger and reconciliation data.
  • The partner financial institution performs the transfer, holds the funds and carries the regulated obligations that go with doing so.
Third-party sender. In ACH terminology, a party that originates entries on behalf of another company through an originating depository financial institution, without having a direct agreement with the receiver's bank. It is the position Dwolla and its customers occupy in the Nacha framework, and it is why the partner bank's risk appetite — not Dwolla's alone — determines what a platform may do.

The practical consequence is that the rules governing a Dwolla deployment come from three places at once: the Dwolla Platform Agreement, the Nacha Operating Rules, and the partner financial institution's own risk policy. The third of those is the one a prospective customer cannot read. Dwolla does not disclose its partner banks publicly, and it does not publish an NMLS identifier or a state money transmitter license list on its website as of July 2026.

Recourse is limited by the rails themselves rather than by Dwolla. ACH returns follow the Nacha rules with defined return reasons and windows. RTP and FedNow payments are credit-push and irrevocable — there is no chargeback right and recovery depends on the receiving institution cooperating with a request for return. Businesses arriving from a card background consistently underestimate this difference.

How Dwolla prices, and what it no longer tells you

Dwolla publishes no pricing at all. As of July 2026 its pricing page states that pricing is built around transaction volume, the rails used and integration requirements, and directs prospective customers to contact sales for a custom quote. There are no plans, no tiers, no per-transaction figures and no monthly platform fee disclosed.

That is a change, and it deserves to be recorded as one. Dwolla previously published named plans with prices on its website. Replacing them with a contact-sales page removes a buyer's ability to size the cost of a build before committing to a sales cycle, and it is the reason fee transparency is rated none rather than limited here. A company that publishes nothing has moved from partial disclosure to zero disclosure, and buyers should read that deliberately rather than charitably.

The fee categories that exist, structurally, are:

  • Per-transaction fees that vary by rail — standard ACH, Same Day ACH, RTP and FedNow are not priced alike.
  • Bank account verification and open-banking connection fees.
  • Fees associated with the Dwolla Balance wallet.
  • ACH return and failed-transaction fees, which matter enormously at volume because failure rates drive them.
  • An implementation or platform subscription fee, historically present and not currently published.

Contract length, notice periods and early-termination terms are likewise unpublished, governed by the Dwolla Platform Agreement and by the partner financial institution's terms. Every one of these is a question to settle in writing before signing, and none of them can be answered from the public site.

Where Dwolla is genuinely strong

ACH. Bank debit and credit over the automated clearing house network — standard and same day, pull and push — is the founding product and remains the center of the offering. For high-volume, low-dispute, recurring collection such as rent, loan repayments, insurance premiums and supplier payments, ACH costs materially less than cards, and Dwolla's whole design assumes that use case.

Instant payments across both rails. Dwolla supports the RTP network and the FedNow Service, which is not universal among bank-payment APIs and matters because the two rails reach different sets of institutions. This coverage was the specific capability NMI cited when it acquired the company. A platform that supports only one instant rail has to explain to customers why some payments arrive immediately and others do not.

The API itself. Dwolla is API-first in the meaningful sense: public documentation, software development kits, drop-in components, webhooks and a sandbox, with the API being essentially the entirety of what a customer buys. Rail selection is abstracted behind one integration, which is rail orchestration for bank payments even though it is not orchestration across card processors.

Named vertical propositions. Dwolla markets specific solutions with use-case documentation for real estate and property management, lending and loan servicing, insurance, healthcare, manufacturing and supply chain, and business-to-business fintech. This is more than positioning — it shapes the money-movement patterns the product handles well, which are scheduled, recurring, high-value and between known counterparties.

Verification tooling. Account verification, tokenization and open-banking balance checks reduce ACH return rates, which is where the real cost of bank payments hides.

Where Dwolla falls short

No cards, at all. Dwolla does not process card payments. Any business that sells to consumers at a checkout will run a second provider alongside it. This is a deliberate boundary rather than a defect, but it is a real one, and it is the gap NMI's ownership is intended to close at the group level rather than inside the Dwolla product.

No published eligibility criteria. Dwolla does not publish a restricted or prohibited business list. Acceptable use is governed by the Dwolla Platform Agreement and by the partner financial institution's risk appetite, neither of which a prospect can read before engaging. A company in an unusual category cannot determine whether it qualifies from public documentation, which is why high-risk suitability is rated unclear rather than none — the answer is unknowable from outside, not known to be negative.

No pricing. Covered above, and it belongs in this list too. Buyers who need to model cost before a sales conversation are excluded by design.

United States only. No cross-border payments, no foreign exchange, no non-US licensing documented. A platform with international users needs another provider for them.

No checkout. Dwolla can collect online by ACH debit or open-banking-verified transfer, but it supplies no checkout page, gateway or e-commerce plugin. The platform builds the experience.

Weaker recourse than cards. Instant payments are irrevocable and ACH returns follow Nacha's limited framework. If your business model depends on the ability to reverse a payment, bank rails are the wrong instrument.

There is also a regulatory item in the record. On 2 March 2016 the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau announced its first-ever data-security enforcement action, against Dwolla, finding the company had falsely claimed its practices exceeded industry standards and that information was securely encrypted and stored, when it had not employed reasonable protective measures. Dwolla paid a $100,000 civil penalty and agreed to implement a comprehensive data-security program with risk assessments, audits, employee training and remediation of application vulnerabilities. That is now a decade old and predates the pivot to infrastructure, but it is a matter of public record and any diligence process will surface it.

The NMI acquisition and what it changes

NMI announced the acquisition of Dwolla on 19 May 2026. Terms were not disclosed. NMI stated the combined business processes close to $700 billion in annual transaction volume, that around 400 Dwolla customers and around 60 Dwolla employees joined NMI, and that Dwolla chief executive Dave Glaser became NMI's Chief Operating Officer. NMI described it as its sixth acquisition in recent years and framed the rationale as adding account-to-account payments, real-time rails including FedNow, payouts and open banking to a card gateway business.

The strategic logic is sound and, unusually for an acquisition, complementary rather than consolidating. NMI is a white-label card gateway sold to independent sales organizations, software vendors and banks; Dwolla is bank rails sold to platforms. Neither did what the other does. A partner that previously needed two vendors to offer cards and bank payments can now buy from one group.

The risks are the ordinary risks of being acquired, and they fall on existing customers who did not choose the transaction. Around 400 customers were folded into a substantially larger business with a different core product and a different channel model. Whether Dwolla continues under its own brand within NMI, and whether pricing, contracts or support arrangements changed after the deal, could not be confirmed as of July 2026. Roadmap priority is the thing to watch: when a smaller product joins a bigger one, investment tends to follow the acquirer's channel.

None of this is a reason to avoid Dwolla. It is a reason to ask direct questions about term length, price protection, service levels and notice periods, and to get the answers in the contract rather than in an email from a salesperson.

How to evaluate Dwolla before you sign

Because so little is published, the evaluation has to happen in the sales process. These are the questions that determine whether the deployment works.

  • Which financial institution partner will perform your transfers, and can you see their risk policy? Dwolla does not disclose partner banks publicly. Your eligibility, your limits and your ability to stay live depend on that institution.
  • Get pricing per rail, in writing, including failure fees. Standard ACH, Same Day ACH, RTP and FedNow are priced differently. Ask specifically about ACH return fees and model them against your realistic return rate, not an optimistic one — at volume this line often exceeds the transaction fees.
  • Confirm the contract term, notice period and early-termination terms. None are published. Given the change of ownership, also ask what happens to your pricing at renewal.
  • Ask whether your business category is permitted and get it confirmed against both the Dwolla Platform Agreement and the partner bank's policy. Do not rely on silence.
  • Check instant-payment reach against your own counterparties. RTP and FedNow only work if the receiving institution participates. Ask for coverage against your actual payee list.
  • Establish your recovery process for misdirected or fraudulently induced payments on each rail, and who bears the loss. Instant rails are irrevocable and this question has an uncomfortable answer more often than buyers expect.
  • Ask directly about post-acquisition roadmap and support. Which team supports you, what the escalation path is, and whether service levels are contractual or aspirational.
  • If you also need cards, price the alternative of a single vendor. Competitors such as Moov cover both card acceptance and bank rails, and a platform already on Stripe can add ACH debit without adding a vendor at all. Running two providers has a real operational cost.

Capability assessment

Every company profiled on this site is assessed against the same eighteen dimensions, so the profiles can be read against one another. Each rating carries one sentence of evidence. There is no score out of ten, because a score is not defensible and a sentence is.

Core strength means a primary, differentiating capability. Supported means genuinely offered and documented, but not a differentiator. Limited means partial, geographically restricted, gated behind an enterprise tier, or delivered through a third party. Not offered means what it says. Unclear means the company markets the capability but does not document it well enough to judge — which is itself a finding.

Card processing
Not offered
Dwolla is a bank-rails company and does not process card payments; card acceptance is what its new parent NMI does, not what Dwolla does.
Online & e-commerce
Limited
Dwolla can collect payments online by ACH debit or by open-banking-verified bank transfer, but it provides no checkout page, gateway or e-commerce plugin and expects the platform to build the experience.
In-person / POS
Not offered
Dwolla offers no point-of-sale hardware, terminal software or in-person acceptance capability.
Mobile & contactless
Not offered
Dwolla has no contactless, tap-to-pay or mobile wallet acceptance product.
Recurring & subscription billing
Supported
Dwolla supports scheduled and automated recurring ACH debits through its API, but it does not sell a subscription-management or dunning product.
ACH & bank debit
Core strength
ACH — standard and Same Day, credit and debit — is Dwolla's founding product and remains the centre of its offering.
Instant / real-time payments
Core strength
Dwolla supports instant payments over both the RTP network and the FedNow Service, and its instant-payments coverage was the specific capability NMI cited when it acquired the company in May 2026.
Cross-border & FX
Not offered
Dwolla is US-domestic and offers no cross-border payments or foreign exchange.
Embedded payments / PayFac
Limited
Dwolla lets platforms embed bank money movement and create end-user accounts and wallets under their own brand, but this is bank-rail embedding rather than card payment facilitation, and Dwolla does not underwrite card sub-merchants.
Payment orchestration
Limited
Dwolla routes across ACH, Same Day ACH, RTP and FedNow behind one API, which is rail orchestration for bank payments, but it does not orchestrate across card processors or gateways.
Payment links & invoicing
Limited
Dwolla provides drop-in components and hosted elements a platform can use to request and collect a bank payment, but it does not sell a standalone invoicing or payment-link product.
High-risk acceptance
Unclear
Dwolla does not publish a restricted or prohibited business list on its public site, and acceptable use is governed by the Dwolla Platform Agreement and by the partner financial institution's own risk policy, so a prospective customer cannot assess eligibility from public documentation.
Fraud & risk tooling
Supported
Dwolla provides bank account verification, tokenisation, balance checks through open banking and transaction monitoring hooks, which reduce ACH return and fraud risk, though it does not sell a standalone fraud product.
Developer API & docs
Core strength
Dwolla is sold as an API-first product with public documentation, SDKs, drop-in components, webhooks and a sandbox, and the API is the entirety of what a customer buys.
Fee transparency
Not offered
Dwolla publishes no pricing at all as of July 2026 — its pricing page directs prospects to contact sales for a custom quote based on volume, rails and integration.
Vertical specialisation
Supported
Dwolla markets named solutions for real estate, lending, insurance, healthcare, manufacturing and B2B fintech, with use-case-specific documentation for each.
Crypto & stablecoin
Not offered
Dwolla offers no crypto or stablecoin rail; its products settle in US dollars over bank rails.
Agentic & AI-initiated payments
Not offered
Dwolla publishes no agentic or AI-agent payments product as of July 2026.

Who Dwolla suits

  • US software platforms that need to move money between their users' bank accounts — rent, loan repayments, insurance premiums, supplier payments — without registering as a money transmitter in every state.
  • Businesses running high volumes of ACH where cost per transaction matters more than the guarantee and dispute framework a card gives.
  • Platforms that need both ACH and instant payments from a single API, since Dwolla supports RTP and FedNow alongside standard and Same Day ACH.
  • Companies doing large batch disbursements (Mass Pay) to many recipients on a schedule.

Who Dwolla is a poor fit for

  • Anyone who needs to compare cost before talking to a salesperson: Dwolla publishes no pricing at all as of July 2026, having replaced its previously published plan pricing with a contact-sales page.
  • Businesses that need to know their eligibility up front: Dwolla does not publish a restricted or prohibited business list, and acceptable use is determined by the Dwolla Platform Agreement and the partner financial institution's risk appetite, which the customer cannot see.
  • Merchants who need card acceptance: Dwolla does not process cards at all, so a business selling to consumers at checkout will need a second provider — a gap NMI's ownership is intended to close, but not one Dwolla itself fills.
  • Anyone needing cross-border payments or multi-currency: Dwolla is US-only with no FX.
  • Buyers who value ownership stability: Dwolla was acquired by NMI on 19 May 2026, its CEO Dave Glaser became NMI's Chief Operating Officer, and around 400 Dwolla customers were folded into a much larger card-gateway business — a roadmap and support-model risk that existing customers did not choose.
  • Buyers sensitive to regulatory history: the CFPB's first-ever data-security enforcement action, in February 2016, was against Dwolla for misrepresenting the security of its platform, and it resulted in a consent order and civil penalty.
  • Businesses that need reversal and dispute rights: RTP and FedNow payments are irrevocable, and ACH returns follow the Nacha rules with limited recourse compared with card chargebacks.

Competitors and alternatives

CompanyWhy a business would choose it instead
Modern TreasuryA payment operations platform covering ACH, wires, RTP and FedNow with strong reconciliation and ledgering, aimed at the same platform buyer.
MoovA US API that covers both card acceptance and bank rails, so a platform needing cards plus ACH can consolidate on one vendor.
Stripe (ACH Direct Debit and Financial Connections)A platform that already uses Stripe for cards can add US bank debits without adding a second vendor.
Plaid TransferCombines bank account verification and payment initiation from a vendor many platforms already use for account linking.
AstraA US API focused on instant and ACH transfers for fintech platforms.
Direct bank integration via a sponsor bankHigher-volume platforms sometimes cut out the middle layer entirely for cost reasons once volume justifies the build.

Dwolla — frequently asked questions

Did NMI acquire Dwolla?

Yes. NMI announced the acquisition on 19 May 2026 and financial terms were not disclosed. NMI stated the combined business processes close to $700 billion in annual transaction volume, that around 400 Dwolla customers and around 60 Dwolla employees joined NMI, and that Dwolla chief executive Dave Glaser became NMI's Chief Operating Officer. NMI described the deal as adding account-to-account payments, real-time rails including FedNow, payouts and open banking to its card gateway, and as its sixth acquisition in recent years.

Is Dwolla a bank?

No. Dwolla's own site states that all funds transfers made using the Dwolla platform are performed by a financial institution partner. Dwolla supplies the API, account tokenization, rail routing and reconciliation; a partner bank holds the funds and performs the regulated money movement. Dwolla does not publish an NMLS identifier or a state money transmitter license list on its website as of July 2026, and it does not name its partner banks publicly.

What payment rails does Dwolla support?

Standard ACH, Same Day ACH, the RTP network operated by The Clearing House, and the Federal Reserve's FedNow Service. Alongside those it offers a Dwolla Balance stored-value wallet, Mass Pay batch disbursements, open banking account verification and balance checks, and a push-to-card product that Dwolla describes as waitlisted as of July 2026. All of it is United States domestic — there is no cross-border capability and no foreign exchange.

How much does Dwolla cost?

Dwolla does not publish pricing as of July 2026. Its pricing page states that pricing is custom and built around transaction volume, the rails used and integration requirements, and directs prospects to contact sales. Dwolla previously published named plans with prices on its site, so this represents a reduction in disclosure. Buyers should request per-rail pricing, ACH return and failed-transaction fees, any platform or implementation fee, and the contract term in writing.

What is the difference between Dwolla and Plaid?

Plaid's core business is bank account connectivity and data — linking accounts, verifying balances and identity. Dwolla's core business is originating the payment itself over ACH, RTP or FedNow. The two overlap because Dwolla offers open-banking account verification and Plaid offers Transfer, but their centers of gravity differ, and many platforms have historically used both together, with Plaid handling account linking and Dwolla handling the money movement.

Was Dwolla subject to a CFPB enforcement action?

Yes, in 2016. Announced on 2 March 2016, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau brought its first-ever data-security enforcement action against Dwolla, finding the company had falsely claimed its practices exceeded industry standards and that information was securely encrypted and stored. Dwolla paid a $100,000 civil penalty and agreed to implement a comprehensive data-security program including risk assessments, audits, employee training and remediation of web and mobile application vulnerabilities. The action is a decade old and predates the company's pivot to business infrastructure.

Can Dwolla process credit card payments?

No. Dwolla is a bank-rails company covering ACH, Same Day ACH, RTP and FedNow, and it does not process card payments at all. A business that needs card acceptance at a checkout will run a separate card provider alongside Dwolla. Card acceptance is what Dwolla's parent NMI does as a white-label gateway, but it is not part of the Dwolla product itself.

Sources

This profile was built from the following primary and secondary sources. Where sources disagreed, the disagreement is stated in the text rather than resolved silently.

Not verified. The following could not be confirmed from a source we consider reliable, and is therefore not asserted anywhere above.
  • VERIFIED, not unverified: the NMI acquisition of Dwolla is confirmed from NMI's own press release at https://www.nmi.com/about-us/news/nmi-acquires-dwolla/ dated 19 May 2026, and Dwolla's own homepage carries the announcement headline. Terms were not disclosed.
  • Sources differ slightly on the CFPB action's date — the CFPB press release is dated 2 March 2016 while Wikipedia cites the consent order as 27 February 2016; the press release date is used here.
  • Dwolla's named partner financial institutions are not disclosed on its public site and are not recorded here.
  • Dwolla's total funding raised and any post-2021 rounds could not be confirmed beyond the 2010 and 2021 rounds noted on Wikipedia.
  • Dave Glaser's start date as Dwolla CEO could not be confirmed; only his role at the time of the May 2026 acquisition is recorded.
  • Whether Dwolla continues to operate under its own brand within NMI, and whether pricing or contracts changed post-acquisition, could not be confirmed.