What Moov actually is
Moov sells money movement as a software component. Its customers are not merchants; they are software companies. Vertical SaaS vendors, loan servicers, construction platforms and credit union core providers integrate one API and a set of drop-in interface components Moov calls Drops, and get card acceptance, ACH, real-time transfers, stored-value wallets and virtual card issuing on a single ledger.
The commercially interesting part is not the API. It is that Moov also does the regulated, unglamorous work a platform would otherwise build or buy separately: onboarding the businesses the platform brings on, running identity and business verification, AML screening, terminated-merchant checks, and the underwriting decision on each one.
What Moov is not matters just as much. It is not a bank, and on the evidence of its own contracts not the acquirer either: Moov's Merchant Processing Services Terms name Pathward, National Association and Lincoln Savings Bank as the Acquirers sponsoring Moov as a third-party agent for Visa, Mastercard and Discover. Nor is it global — rails, sponsor banks and documentation are all US-domestic.
How Moov works and who carries the risk
Four parties sit in a live Moov arrangement, and confusing them is how buyers get surprised.
- The platform is Moov's direct customer: it integrates the API and brings businesses onto the system.
- The end user — the business actually selling something — is, under Moov's Merchant Processing Services Terms, the merchant for card transactions, and those terms put all transaction disputes on the end user rather than on Moov or the platform.
- Moov runs onboarding, verification, AML screening and MATCH checks, takes the risk decision, holds balances in Moov wallets, and moves funds across the rails.
- The Acquirer — Pathward, N.A. or Lincoln Savings Bank — sponsors Moov into the card networks.
The same terms state that the Acquirer or the card networks may limit, suspend or terminate access at any time for any reason. That language is common across sponsored acquiring and not unique to Moov, but it is the honest answer to "what guarantee do I have that this keeps running": contractually, none — and the entity that can pull the plug is a bank the platform never signed with.
How Moov prices
Moov publishes per-service pricing on a public page, which is genuinely unusual in embedded payments — most competitors treat pricing as a conversation, and being able to model cost before a sales call is why a small engineering-led team can evaluate Moov in an afternoon. Money movement is priced per transaction and varies by rail (card versus bank), speed (instant versus standard) and geography (domestic versus international). On top sit recurring and event-driven charges: a monthly fee per active wallet, a fee per paid invoice, per-verification fees for identity, business and bank-account checks at onboarding, creation and dispute fees on virtual cards, and warehouse sync fees. Enterprise plans are negotiated separately.
Moov states there are no setup fees and no hidden fees. Fair as far as it goes — but the published plan carries a monthly minimum, and a platform with many low-activity wallets will find the per-wallet maintenance charge, not the per-transaction charge, drives its bill.
Contract length and early-termination terms are not published. The Moov Platform Agreement is, and Moov may modify it unilaterally, in its words, from time to time upon notice to the user, with continued use constituting acceptance. It also caps Moov's and any FI Partner's aggregate liability for all damages and losses at the fees paid in the preceding three months — a meaningful risk transfer in Moov's direction that legal review should see early.
Where Moov is genuinely strong
Bank rails and instant payouts. This is the company's origin and it shows. Moov grew out of Wade Arnold's open-source ACH and NACHA file libraries, and ACH — including same-day — is a founding capability rather than a bolt-on. Add RTP, FedNow and push-to-card and money moves out in seconds or in days depending on what the use case is worth, without a second vendor. Providers that started with card acceptance and added bank rails afterwards rarely feel this coherent.
Embedded payment facilitation. A platform can onboard and monetize sub-merchants without its own card-network registration, underwriting function or compliance team. Moov does the parts that are expensive to replicate: verification, screening, MATCH checks and the risk decision itself.
The developer surface. Server-side SDKs, a JavaScript library, Tap to Pay SDKs for iOS and Android, a public roadmap and more than fifty open-source projects. The open-source history is not marketing decoration; the NACHA libraries predate the company.
Named financial-institution integrations. Jack Henry Rapid Transfers for credit union account-to-account payments, SouthState Bank for real-time push and pull to debit, and Canopy Servicing for loan repayments are specific partnerships rather than logo-wall claims — a shorter path to production for a credit union or core provider than a generic API.
Where Moov falls short
It is a United States product. The pricing page distinguishes domestic from international transactions, but Moov documents no multi-currency settlement, no FX conversion and no local acquiring outside the US, and its sponsor banks are US institutions. A platform selling in Europe or Asia needs a second provider — the cost this category exists to avoid.
Whole categories of business are barred. Moov's Prohibited and Restricted Businesses policy rules out adult entertainment, money services businesses, virtual currency exchanges, cannabis dispensaries, NFTs and unlicensed lending outright, and puts gambling, crowdfunding, forex and high-interest lending through enhanced due diligence. The clause that matters more than the list allows Moov or any applicable FI Partner to designate further restricted or prohibited activity from time to time — so a platform whose customers straddle the edge is building on a policy a bank it never signed with can rewrite.
No orchestration. Moov is a single processing stack: no gateway-agnostic routing across third-party acquirers, no failover to a competing processor, no vault portability. A platform wanting to shop authorizations between acquirers is in the wrong category.
Recurring billing is primitives, not a product. Stored payment methods, payment links and invoicing are there, and a competent team can assemble recurring charges from them. Absent is subscription management, proration, entitlements and dunning — the logic that retries a failed renewal and chases the customer. Subscription businesses end up pairing Moov with billing software.
Fraud tooling is internal, not merchant-facing, and crypto, stablecoin settlement and agentic commerce are absent entirely. Screening, MATCH checks and dispute monitoring run inside Moov's own risk process; there is no rules engine a platform can expose to its merchants.
Ownership, history and regulatory posture
Wade Arnold began building the open-source Moov protocol and its ACH and NACHA libraries in 2017. Moov Financial, Inc. was incorporated and seed-funded in 2020 by Arnold and Bob Smith, Bain Capital Ventures leading the seed and Andreessen Horowitz a Series A the same year. Card acceptance launched in 2022 alongside a joint effort with Visa and Pathward aimed at ISVs; a Series B followed in 2023. Moov's company page names Bain Capital, Andreessen Horowitz, Commerce Ventures and Visa as investors.
The public record disagrees with itself on that Series B: Moov's news page attributes it to Andreessen Horowitz and Visa, third-party research to a $45M round led by Commerce Ventures in January 2023. Treat amount and lead as uncertain. Moov names no headquarters city and describes the team as fully remote; Cedar Falls, Iowa is a third-party report, and headcount is unpublished.
What is documented: Pathward and Lincoln Savings Bank sponsor Moov as a third-party agent for Visa, Mastercard and Discover acquiring, and third-party research describes Moov as a registered payment facilitator, acquirer processor, issuer processor and program manager. Moov runs a bug bounty and a security portal but states no PCI DSS level. No enforcement actions or litigation were found.
How to evaluate Moov before you integrate
Published pricing makes commercial diligence easy and legal diligence feel optional. It is not.
- Model the whole fee stack, not the transaction fee. Run a realistic account mix through per-transaction charges, per-active-wallet fees, per-paid-invoice fees, per-verification onboarding fees and warehouse sync, then compare against the monthly minimum. Many dormant accounts gives a very different answer from few busy ones.
- Read the Merchant Processing Services Terms as though you were the sub-merchant. They put dispute liability on the end user, allow a Reserve Account with a first lien over its funds, and allow MATCH reporting on termination. Get the reserve policy in writing: what triggers one, how it is sized and what releases it.
- Ask which FI Partner sits behind each service — acquiring, wallets, issuing, instant rails — and what happens to your merchants if one of those relationships ends. If your procurement, auditors or regulator need documented money transmission permissions, search NMLS Consumer Access for Moov Financial, Inc. and require a written response rather than accepting a secondary source that describes Moov as licensed.
- Test every sub-merchant category you plan to serve against the Prohibited and Restricted Businesses policy, and ask what notice you get if it changes. Request a PCI DSS attestation and stated level, since neither is published — and if any part of your roadmap is outside the United States, stop here.
Capability assessment
Every company profiled on this site is assessed against the same eighteen dimensions, so the profiles can be read against one another. Each rating carries one sentence of evidence. There is no score out of ten, because a score is not defensible and a sentence is.
Core strength means a primary, differentiating capability. Supported means genuinely offered and documented, but not a differentiator. Limited means partial, geographically restricted, gated behind an enterprise tier, or delivered through a third party. Not offered means what it says. Unclear means the company markets the capability but does not document it well enough to judge — which is itself a finding.
Who Moov suits
- Vertical SaaS and ISVs that want to onboard and monetise sub-merchants under someone else's card-network registration and sponsor bank, without building their own PayFac stack.
- US platforms that need to both pull money in and push it out on the same ledger — for example loan servicers, marketplaces and disbursement programmes that need same-day ACH, RTP, FedNow and push-to-card in one integration.
- Engineering-led teams that want published per-service pricing and open-source, well-documented primitives rather than a negotiated enterprise contract.
- Credit unions, community banks and their core providers, where Moov has named partnerships with Jack Henry and SouthState Bank for real-time account-to-account and Visa Direct transfers.
Who Moov is a poor fit for
- Merchants in the categories on Moov's Prohibited & Restricted Businesses list — adult entertainment, money services businesses, virtual currency exchanges, cannabis, NFTs and unlicensed lending are barred outright, and the policy allows Moov or 'any applicable FI Partner' to designate further restricted or prohibited activity 'from time to time', so the list can change unilaterally.
- Businesses that cannot tolerate reserve exposure: Moov's Merchant Processing Services Terms let Moov or the Acquirer establish a Reserve Account sized to processing history and risk, fund it by set-off against settlement or by direct debit, and take 'a first lien and security interest in ... all funds in the Reserve Account'.
- Merchants who need contractual certainty about continuity: the same terms state that the Acquirer or the card Networks may 'limit, suspend, or terminate ... User's access ... at any time for any reason', and that terminated merchants may be reported to the MATCH list.
- Low-volume merchants — Moov's standard published plan carries a monthly minimum, so a small or seasonal biller pays for capacity it does not use.
- Businesses selling outside the United States: Moov's rails, sponsor banks and documentation are US-domestic, and it publishes no multi-currency settlement, local acquiring or non-US regulatory permissions as of July 2026.
- Buyers whose procurement requires the vendor's own licensing to be documented: Moov's Commercial User Terms describe it as 'the provider of a technology platform and related APIs ... in conjunction with one or more FI Partners' and do not assert money transmitter licences, and Moov publishes no licence list or NMLS number on its site as of July 2026.
- Enterprises that need a meaningful liability backstop — Moov's Platform Agreement caps 'Moov's and any FI Partner's aggregate liability for all damages and losses' at the fees paid in the preceding three months.
Competitors and alternatives
| Company | Why a business would choose it instead |
|---|---|
| Finix | A direct alternative for platforms that want managed payment facilitation with the option to graduate to their own PayFac registration. |
| Stripe Connect | A merchant would switch for global coverage, multi-currency settlement and a far larger integration ecosystem than Moov's US-only stack. |
| Payrix (Worldpay) | Backed by a global acquirer, which appeals to platforms that want an embedded-payments provider with a large-bank balance sheet behind it. |
| Unit | Overlaps on embedded banking and wallets; a platform would choose Unit if deposit accounts and debit issuing matter more than card acquiring. |
| Adyen for Platforms | For platforms that need embedded payments across Europe and Asia as well as the US, which Moov does not serve. |
| Dwolla | A narrower alternative for platforms that only need ACH and RTP account-to-account transfers without card acceptance. |
Moov — frequently asked questions
Does Moov hold its own money transmitter licenses?
This cannot be confirmed either way from public sources. Moov publishes no license list and no NMLS identifier on moov.io as of July 2026, and its Commercial User Terms describe Moov as the provider of a technology platform and related APIs through which Moov, in conjunction with one or more FI Partners, enables the initiation and receipt of funds transfers — technology-platform language rather than a claim of licensure — while also stating that certain Moov Services may constitute regulated activity under applicable law. Separately, Moov's Merchant Processing Services Terms name Pathward, National Association and Lincoln Savings Bank as the Acquirers sponsoring Moov as a third-party agent. Anyone who needs a definitive answer should search NMLS Consumer Access for Moov Financial, Inc. and ask Moov to confirm in writing.
Is Moov a payment facilitator or a payment processor?
In practice it operates as both. Third-party research describes Moov as a registered payment facilitator, acquirer processor, issuer processor and program manager, and Moov performs the facilitator's functions directly: it onboards sub-merchants, runs KYC, KYB, AML screening and MATCH checks, and takes the underwriting decision. It is not the acquiring bank — card acquiring is sponsored by Pathward, N.A. and Lincoln Savings Bank, which appear as the Acquirers in Moov's own merchant terms.
Who is liable for chargebacks on a Moov transaction?
The end user — the business actually selling the goods or services. Moov's Merchant Processing Services Terms make the platform's end user the merchant for card transactions and state that the end user bears all transaction disputes. Those terms also allow Moov or the Acquirer to establish a Reserve Account sized to processing history and risk, fund it by set-off against settlement or by direct debit, and hold a first lien and security interest in all funds in that reserve.
Does Moov publish its pricing?
Yes, and it is one of the few embedded-payments platforms that does. Moov's public pricing page lists per-service charges across money movement, wallets, payment links, invoicing, virtual cards, onboarding verification and data products, with pricing varying by rail, by speed and by domestic versus international. The standard published plan carries a monthly minimum, and custom enterprise plans are quoted separately. Contract length and early-termination terms are not published.
Which payment rails does Moov support?
Card acceptance for Visa, Mastercard and Discover; ACH including same-day ACH; The Clearing House's RTP network; FedNow; push-to-card disbursement; debit pull for account funding; stored-value Moov wallets; and virtual card issuing. In-person acceptance is available through Tap to Pay SDKs for iPhone and Android rather than through countertop terminals. All of it is US-domestic.
Can Moov process international payments?
Not meaningfully. Moov's pricing distinguishes domestic from international transactions, but the company documents no multi-currency settlement, no FX conversion, no local acquiring outside the United States and no non-US regulatory permissions as of July 2026, and its sponsor banks are US institutions. A platform with non-US customers will need a second provider.
What businesses will Moov not serve?
Moov's Prohibited and Restricted Businesses policy bars adult entertainment, money services businesses, virtual currency exchanges, cannabis dispensaries, NFTs, unlicensed lenders, and deceptive or illegal practices outright, and subjects gambling, crypto-adjacent businesses, crowdfunding, forex trading and high-interest lending to enhanced due diligence. The policy also allows Moov or any applicable FI Partner to designate further restricted or prohibited activity from time to time, so the list can change without the platform's agreement.
Sources
This profile was built from the following primary and secondary sources. Where sources disagreed, the disagreement is stated in the text rather than resolved silently.
- https://moov.io/
- https://moov.io/company/
- https://moov.io/platform/
- https://moov.io/pricing/
- https://moov.io/news/
- https://moov.io/legal/
- https://moov.io/legal/platform-agreement/
- https://moov.io/legal/platform-agreement/commercial-user-terms/
- https://moov.io/legal/platform-agreement/merchant-processing-services-terms/
- https://moov.io/legal/platform-agreement/prohibited-restricted-businesses/
- https://moov.io/blog/
- https://docs.moov.io/
- https://research.contrary.com/company/moov
- https://www.accessnewswire.com/710002/the-future-of-modern-payments-processing-is-here-moov-financial-joins-fo
- Moov's own money transmitter licences could not be verified. Moov publishes no licence list or NMLS identifier on moov.io, and its Commercial User Terms position it as a technology platform acting 'in conjunction with one or more FI Partners' rather than as a licensed money transmitter. NMLS Consumer Access was not reachable from this environment, so the question is open — do not state that Moov holds its own MTLs without checking NMLS directly.
- Headquarters city: Cedar Falls, Iowa is reported by Contrary Research and Moov has been listed among Iowa tech startups, but Moov's own site names no headquarters and describes the team as fully remote across the US.
- Employee count: not published by Moov and not found in a primary source.
- Exact founding month and legal incorporation date: Contrary Research gives August 2020; Moov's own site does not state a founding date.
- Series B size and lead: Contrary Research reports $45M in January 2023 led by Commerce Ventures, while Moov's own news page attributes the Series B to Andreessen Horowitz and Visa. Treat the amount and lead as uncertain.
- Whether Moov acts as merchant of record for card transactions in every configuration: the Commercial User Terms say the user is the merchant for Merchant Processing Services but that a 'Company' handles the merchant relationship in platform configurations.
- PCI DSS compliance level: Moov operates a bug bounty and a security portal but does not state a PCI DSS level in the pages reviewed.