What Recurly actually is
Recurly is subscription and subscriber-lifecycle software. It manages plans, add-ons, trials, proration, coupons and usage; issues invoices; stores card credentials; and — the part the company is built around — runs dunning, smart retries and churn-recovery campaigns against payments that fail.
It does not process anything. Recurly does not acquire, does not settle funds and is not the merchant of record. Each charge routes to one of roughly 17 to 20 supported third-party gateways the merchant contracted with directly — Stripe, Adyen, Braintree, PayPal Complete, Authorize.net, Checkout.com, Cybersource, Nuvei, Worldpay and GoCardless among them. The merchant keeps the acquiring relationship, settlement account and chargeback liability, and Recurly holds no acquiring registration or money transmission licensing.
Recurly's centre of gravity distinguishes it from otherwise-similar platforms. Its named customers are consumer-scale subscription businesses — Paramount+, Sling, Alaska Airlines, FabFitFun, Sprout Social — and its 2025 acquisitions pushed further that way: Redfast, rebranded Recurly Engage, for predictive churn prevention, and Prive, rebranded Recurly Commerce, for Shopify-first physical-goods subscriptions. It is optimized for millions of small recurring charges, not a few hundred complex negotiated contracts.
How Recurly works and who carries what
Three parties, cleanly separated. Recurly holds the subscription state — plan, price, entitlements, schedule, invoice history, dunning position — and decides when a charge is attempted and what happens when it fails. The gateway executes the charge and holds the acquiring connection, with failover and smart retry across connected gateways. The merchant keeps the merchant account, settlement, tax and chargeback liability.
The architectural argument is the one every gateway-agnostic billing platform makes, and it is sound: keeping subscription state outside the processor lets a merchant add or replace a gateway without rebuilding billing logic. What makes leaving a processor expensive is rarely the integration but the schedules, proration history and credentials inside it.
Payment method coverage is wide and comes from the gateways: cards, ACH, SEPA, BACS and BECS direct debit; Apple Pay, Google Pay, Amazon Pay, Venmo and Cash App Pay; and local recurring methods including Klarna, iDEAL, Boleto, Pix Automático and UPI AutoPay. Recurly stated acceptance in more than 140 currencies as of 2020. There is no in-person acceptance, no payouts and no instant rails, because no money moves through Recurly.
How Recurly prices, and what its published terms say
Recurly's core pricing is a percentage of billing volume — the structural fact that should drive the evaluation, and it applies at every tier. The entry Starter tier combines a published monthly base fee with a percentage of billing volume above an allowance, and carries a 90-day free trial. All-Access and its Shopify variant are priced purely as a percentage of billing volume, with rates improving at higher volume, quoted by sales and shown publicly only as an "as low as" figure; both require a minimum annual billing volume and are billed annually. Engage and RevRec are separately priced add-ons.
Unusually, Recurly publishes a Starter Plan Terms of Service, worth reading precisely because so few vendors here publish anything. It runs until terminated, either party able to terminate on thirty days' notice; fee amounts, in the terms' own words, "including, but not limited pre-paid to annual purchases shall be non-refundable"; and Recurly may change fees on thirty days' notice. Those are explicitly the Starter Plan terms — All-Access and enterprise agreements are negotiated — so do not assume the document describes the contract you will sign, but do assume it shows the vendor's default posture.
Where Recurly is genuinely strong
Involuntary-churn recovery at consumer scale. Dunning, smart retry logic across connected gateways, and — since 2025 — predictive churn prevention through Recurly Engage. For a streaming service with millions of monthly renewals, a small improvement in recovery is a large absolute number — the clearest return-on-investment case in subscription software. Vendors that serve everyone serve the complex-contract end well and the high-volume end adequately; Recurly's bias runs the other way.
International recurring methods. Multi-currency subscription pricing plus local rails that matter outside the US — Pix Automático in Brazil, UPI AutoPay in India, SEPA and BACS in Europe. Genuinely differentiating, because many local payment methods do not support merchant-initiated repeat charges at all.
Shopify physical-goods subscriptions. The Prive acquisition gave Recurly a Shopify-native subscription product with its own plan, aimed at brands selling replenishable goods — a distinct market from SaaS billing and streaming, which few direct competitors address natively.
Low-friction evaluation and first-class invoicing. A 90-day free trial on Starter and a free sandbox on All-Access let a team run real billing logic before committing. Invoicing covers automated generation, hosted payment pages and adjustment handling, behind published REST APIs and webhooks.
Where Recurly falls short
The exit terms are the harshest thing in the public record. The published Starter Plan Terms put the whole burden of data preservation on the customer: "Merchant is solely responsible for exporting a copy of Merchant's billing data prior to any such termination or expiration." Recurly retains billing data for thirty days after termination, and professional-services fees may apply later. With pre-paid annual fees non-refundable and no documented vault-export process, a badly managed exit leaves a merchant paying to retrieve data it can no longer bill against.
The gateway list is narrow, and fee certainty is weak by design. Roughly 17 to 20 providers, against 30-plus at the closest competitor and more than a hundred at a dedicated orchestration platform, with Recurly's own documentation listing 17 named gateways in one place and "20+" in another. And All-Access publishes only an "as low as" rate and requires a minimum annual billing volume, so mid-size merchants must negotiate to learn what they will pay.
Security attestations are not published. Recurly stores customer card data on the merchant's behalf, placing it firmly in PCI scope as a service provider, yet states no PCI DSS level publicly, and no SOC 2 or ISO 27001 attestation was found in the pages reviewed. Competitors in adjacent categories publish these.
It solves no payments problem, and complex B2B billing is not the sweet spot. No acquiring, no settlement, no merchant-of-record status, no underwriting, no in-person acceptance, no payouts, no crypto, and fraud tooling is whatever the connected gateway provides. Quoting, multi-entity consolidation and heavy quote-to-cash workflow are addressed more directly elsewhere, and revenue recognition is a priced add-on, not a pillar.
Ownership, history and the 2018 vendor incident
Recurly was founded in 2009 by Dan Burkhart and Isaac Hall — Burkhart confirmed as co-founder by Recurly's own 2020 press release, Hall only by third-party profiles. Headquarters is San Francisco, with offices in Boulder, New Orleans and London.
The ownership fact that matters most is that Recurly is a private-equity portfolio company. Accel-KKR announced a majority equity investment on 12 August 2020 and was still publishing Recurly announcements as of May 2025; whether the stake remains a majority in July 2026 is not stated anywhere. At the investment it reported more than 2,100 businesses, 30 million active subscribers and over 240 employees. Current headcount, revenue and valuation are unpublished — normal under private-equity ownership, unhelpful for a buyer. Joe Rohrlich became CEO in January 2024, Burkhart moving to the board. The company page claims a $16 billion annual transaction run rate and 100 million-plus active subscribers as of 2026, unaudited.
There is one security incident on the public record, and Recurly disclosed it itself. In October 2018 it reported that a third-party vendor, Apollo.io, had misconfigured a server between 16 and 25 July 2018, exposing Recurly's Salesforce sales and marketing contact data — names, titles, employment details, email addresses, phone numbers and sales opportunity details. Recurly said it was not notified until 5 October 2018, that no Recurly application or transaction data was exposed, that credentials had never been shared with the vendor, and that it terminated the vendor's access and confirmed deletion. The disclosure was voluntary and specific; the lasting lesson is about subprocessor risk rather than Recurly's own systems.
How to evaluate Recurly against the alternatives
Recurly rewards a specific buyer and penalizes a specific carelessness. Diligence should reflect both.
- Quantify your involuntary churn first. Work out what proportion of monthly cancellations are failed payments rather than decisions, and what recovering a share is worth annually. If that number is small, the strongest argument for Recurly does not apply.
- Model the fee at plan, not at present, since core pricing is a percentage of billing volume: establish the thresholds at which the rate steps down, whether All-Access's minimum annual billing volume is achievable, and whether flat pricing exists at your scale. Confirm your gateway is on the supported list first of all.
- Build data-export discipline into the implementation, not the offboarding. The Starter terms make the merchant solely responsible for exporting billing data before termination, retain it only thirty days afterward, and allow fees for later retrieval, so schedule recurring exports from go-live.
- Ask directly about vault export. Recurly stores card data on your behalf but publishes no token-portability process. Get the migration path, format, counterparties and fees into the contract while you have leverage, and request the security evidence at the same time — a current PCI DSS Attestation of Compliance and stated level, plus any SOC 2 report.
- Establish which contract you are signing. The published terms are explicitly the Starter Plan terms; All-Access and enterprise agreements are negotiated, so ask whether the non-refundability, thirty-day retention and fee-change clauses carry across.
Against Chargebee, the closest like-for-like competitor, the split is clean. Recurly is private-equity-owned, prices mainly as a percentage of billing volume, requires a minimum billing volume for its full tier, runs a narrower gateway list, and is built around consumer subscription scale. Chargebee is venture-backed, offers a free entry tier and a published mid-market price, supports a wider gateway set, and has extended into quoting, revenue recognition and receivables for complex B2B billing. Zuora targets enterprise quote-to-cash, Vindicia specializes in the same involuntary-churn problem, and Paddle and FastSpring absorb tax and fraud liability as merchant of record — which Recurly does not.
Capability assessment
Every company profiled on this site is assessed against the same eighteen dimensions, so the profiles can be read against one another. Each rating carries one sentence of evidence. There is no score out of ten, because a score is not defensible and a sentence is.
Core strength means a primary, differentiating capability. Supported means genuinely offered and documented, but not a differentiator. Limited means partial, geographically restricted, gated behind an enterprise tier, or delivered through a third party. Not offered means what it says. Unclear means the company markets the capability but does not document it well enough to judge — which is itself a finding.
Who Recurly suits
- Consumer subscription businesses at scale — streaming, media, publishing, boxes — where involuntary churn from failed and expired cards is the biggest single revenue leak and dunning plus smart retries pay for themselves.
- Merchants who want subscription state to live outside the processor so they can change or add gateways without rewriting billing logic.
- Companies selling internationally that need multi-currency subscription pricing plus local recurring methods such as Pix Automatico, UPI AutoPay, SEPA and BACS.
- Shopify merchants selling physical-goods subscriptions, addressed by Recurly Commerce (the acquired Prive product) and a dedicated All-Access for Shopify plan.
- Teams that want to trial before committing — Starter carries a 90-day free trial and All-Access offers a free sandbox.
Who Recurly is a poor fit for
- Merchants looking for a payment processor: Recurly does not acquire, does not settle and is not the merchant of record. It is a software fee on top of processing fees, not a substitute for a gateway or merchant account.
- Businesses whose cost sensitivity rises with growth: Recurly's core pricing is a percentage of billing volume, so the platform bill scales directly with the merchant's revenue whether or not the workload changes.
- Smaller merchants who want the full product: the All-Access tier requires a minimum annual billing volume to qualify, is billed annually, and publishes only an 'as low as' rate, so mid-size merchants must negotiate.
- Buyers who need refund protection: the published Starter Plan Terms state that 'Any Fee amounts, including, but not limited pre-paid to annual purchases shall be non-refundable.'
- Teams with weak data-exit discipline: the Starter Plan Terms put the burden entirely on the customer — 'Merchant is solely responsible for exporting a copy of Merchant's billing data prior to any such termination or expiration' — with Recurly retaining billing data for only thirty days after termination and professional services fees potentially applying to later retrieval.
- Buyers who need pricing certainty: Recurly 'reserves the right to change the Fees' with at least thirty days' notice given on the site or by email at Recurly's option, and continued use constitutes acceptance.
- Merchants who want to keep their tokenised card vault portable: Recurly stores card data on the merchant's behalf but publishes no documented vault-export or token-portability process, which makes migrating away a re-vaulting exercise negotiated case by case.
- Companies that need a broad gateway choice: Recurly's documented gateway list is roughly 17 to 20 providers, materially narrower than a dedicated orchestration platform.
Competitors and alternatives
| Company | Why a business would choose it instead |
|---|---|
| Chargebee | The closest like-for-like competitor; merchants compare directly on pricing model, free entry tier and breadth of gateway and finance integrations. |
| Zuora | Aimed further upmarket at enterprise quote-to-cash and complex revenue recognition; chosen where contract and order management matter more than consumer churn recovery. |
| Stripe Billing | A merchant already fully on Stripe would switch to remove a vendor and a percentage-of-revenue software fee, giving up gateway independence in return. |
| Vindicia | A long-standing consumer subscription retention specialist competing on the same involuntary-churn problem in media and streaming. |
| Paddle or FastSpring | Merchant-of-record providers that absorb sales tax, VAT and fraud liability outright, which Recurly does not. |
| Maxio | A B2B SaaS-focused alternative combining billing with SaaS financial operations and reporting. |
Recurly — frequently asked questions
Is Recurly a payment processor or a payment gateway?
Neither. Recurly is subscription management and recurring billing software that routes each charge to one of roughly 17 to 20 third-party payment gateways, including Stripe, Adyen, Braintree, PayPal Complete, Authorize.net, Checkout.com, Cybersource, Nuvei and Worldpay. The merchant keeps its own merchant account, settlement and chargeback liability, and Recurly holds no acquiring registration or money transmission licensing. It is also not the merchant of record.
Who owns Recurly?
Private equity firm Accel-KKR holds a majority equity position in Recurly, announced on 12 August 2020, and was still publishing Recurly announcements on its own site as of May 2025. Whether the stake remains a majority as of July 2026 is not stated in any current source. Co-founder Dan Burkhart was CEO at the time of the investment and moved to the board when Joe Rohrlich became CEO in January 2024.
How does Recurly charge for its platform?
Primarily as a percentage of billing volume, so the software cost scales with the merchant's revenue. The entry Starter tier combines a published monthly base fee with a percentage of billing volume above an included allowance and offers a 90-day free trial. The All-Access tier and its Shopify variant are priced purely as a percentage of billing volume, require a minimum annual billing volume, are billed annually and publish only an "as low as" rate pending a sales conversation. Recurly Engage and Recurly RevRec are separately priced annual add-ons, and Recurly reserves the right to change fees on at least thirty days' notice.
What happens to my billing data if I leave Recurly?
Recurly's published Starter Plan Terms of Service state that Recurly retains billing data for thirty days after termination and that "Merchant is solely responsible for exporting a copy of Merchant's billing data prior to any such termination or expiration," with professional-services fees potentially applying to later retrieval. The same terms state that fee amounts, including pre-paid annual purchases, are non-refundable, and that either party may terminate on thirty days' notice. Recurly also publishes no documented vault-export or token-portability process for the card credentials it stores, so migrating those is negotiated case by case.
What is the difference between Recurly and Chargebee?
Both are gateway-agnostic subscription billing platforms of similar vintage — Recurly founded in 2009, Chargebee in 2011 — and neither processes or settles payments. Recurly is majority-owned by private equity firm Accel-KKR, prices mainly as a percentage of billing volume, requires a minimum billing volume for its All-Access tier, supports roughly 17 to 20 gateways, and leans into consumer streaming, media and Shopify physical-goods subscriptions. Chargebee is venture-backed, offers a free entry tier and a published mid-market price, supports 30-plus gateways, and has expanded into quoting, revenue recognition, receivables and retention for complex B2B SaaS billing.
What did Recurly acquire in 2025?
On 7 May 2025 Recurly acquired Redfast and Prive; terms were not disclosed. Redfast, rebranded Recurly Engage, predicts churn and delivers personalized in-product prompts to retain subscribers. Prive, rebranded Recurly Commerce, is a Shopify-first subscription platform for physical goods, previously used by brands including Coterie, Public Goods and GEM, and is now sold under a dedicated All-Access for Shopify plan.
Has Recurly had a data breach?
Recurly disclosed one third-party incident, in October 2018. A vendor, Apollo.io, misconfigured a server between 16 and 25 July 2018, exposing Recurly's Salesforce sales and marketing contact data — names, titles, employment details, email addresses, phone numbers, locations, company names and sales opportunity details. Recurly said it was not notified until 5 October 2018, that no Recurly application or transaction data was exposed, that login credentials and transaction data had never been shared with the vendor, and that it terminated the vendor's access, ended the relationship and obtained confirmation the data had been deleted.
Sources
This profile was built from the following primary and secondary sources. Where sources disagreed, the disagreement is stated in the text rather than resolved silently.
- https://recurly.com/company/
- https://recurly.com/pricing/
- https://recurly.com/legal/terms/
- https://docs.recurly.com/docs/payment-gateways
- https://docs.recurly.com/recurly-subscriptions/docs/payment-gateways-1
- https://recurly.com/press/recurly-secures-majority-equity-investment-from-accel-kkr/
- https://www.accel-kkr.com/recurly-secures-majority-equity-investment-from-accel-kkr/
- https://recurly.com/press/recurly-welcomes-joe-rohrlich-as-ceo/
- https://recurly.com/press/recurly-acquires-prive-and-redfast-to-accelerate-the-future-of-subscription-growth/
- https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20250507475204/en/Recurly-Announces-Strategic-Acquisitions-of-Redfast-a
- https://recurly.com/press/recurly-appoints-matthew-schurk-chief-revenue-officer/
- https://recurly.com/blog/notification-of-vendor-data-security-incident/
- Founders: Recurly's own company page gives the 2009 founding year but names no founders. Dan Burkhart is confirmed as co-founder by Recurly's own 2020 press release ('CEO and Co-Founder'); Isaac Hall as the other co-founder is from third-party profiles rather than a Recurly source.
- Current employee count: the only company-sourced figure is 240+ from August 2020. Do not present it as current.
- Accel-KKR's exact stake and whether it remains the majority holder in July 2026: the majority position is confirmed as of August 2020 and Accel-KKR was still publishing Recurly news in May 2025, but no current ownership statement was found.
- Whether the published Starter Plan Terms of Service also govern All-Access and enterprise customers: the terms reviewed are explicitly the Starter Plan terms, and enterprise agreements are negotiated and unpublished. The non-refundability, thirty-day data retention and unilateral fee-change clauses are confirmed only for the Starter plan.
- PCI DSS level: Recurly stores card data as a service provider but does not state a PCI DSS level in the pages reviewed.
- SOC 2, ISO 27001 or other security attestations: not found in the pages reviewed.
- Exact gateway count: Recurly's documentation lists 17 named gateways in one place and describes '20+ payment gateways' in another. Treat the count as approximate.
- Redfast and Prive acquisition prices: not disclosed.
- The $16 billion annual transaction run rate and 100 million-plus active subscribers are Recurly's own unaudited claims from its company page and are not independently verified.
- Revenue, valuation and profitability: not published, as Recurly is privately held under PE ownership.